City of Clifton, NJ
Passaic County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
[HISTORY: Adopted by the Municipal Council of the City of Clifton 7-17-83 by Ord. No. 4169-73 (Article 11 of Chapter 21 of the Revised Ordinances of the City of Clifton, New Jersey, 1960). Amendments noted where applicable.]

§ 341-1 Definitions.

As used in this chapter, the following terms shall have the meanings indicated:
HABITUAL OFFENDER
A minor who is convicted of the commission of two or more offenses within a twelve-month period.
MINOR
Any juvenile under the age of 18 residing with the parent defined in this chapter.
OFFENSE
Any act or acts which shall constitute a violation of any criminal or disorderly persons statute of the State of New Jersey, or the commission of which shall constitute an act of juvenile delinquency under the provisions of N.J.S.A. 2A:4-14[1] or the commission of which shall violate any quasi-criminal ordinance of the City of Clifton other than traffic ordinances.
PARENT
Mother, father, legal guardian or any other person having the care or custody of a minor.
PARENTAL NEGLECT
It shall be unlawful for any parent by any act, word, deed or course of conduct or by any failure to act or to exercise supervision or control over a minor to suffer, allow, permit, aid, abet, assist, cause or encourage said minor to commit or participate in the commission of an offense as that term is hereinbefore in this chapter defined.
[1]
Editor's Note: N.J.S.A. 2A:4-14 was repealed by Chapter 306 of the Laws of 1973. For current statutory provisions, see N.J.S.A. 2A:4-42 et seq.

§ 341-2 Parents to be notified of arrest or conviction of minor; habitual offenders; violations and penalties.

A. 
Whenever a minor shall be arrested or detained for the commission of any offense within the City of Clifton, any parent of such minor shall be immediately notified by the Police Department of the City of Clifton by written notification advising the parent of such arrest or detention, the reason therefor and the parent's responsibility and liability to fine or imprisonment, or both, under this chapter. Upon the minor's conviction of any such offense, any parent of such minor shall be immediately notified by the Police Department of the City of Clifton by written notification advising the parent of such conviction.
B. 
A record of such notifications shall be kept by the City of Clifton Police Department.
C. 
Whenever it shall appear that a minor has been convicted of the number of offenses necessary to classify him as an habitual offender as defined in § 341-1 hereof, and further that the parent of such minor has been notified of said prior violations and convictions in accordance with § 341-61A hereof, then on such minor again being convicted of any offense, said prior convictions shall be prima facie evidence of parental neglect as herein defined, and the parent of such habitual offender may be deemed guilty of parental neglect and, upon conviction, shall be subject to a fine of not more than $500 or imprisonment in the county jail for not more than 90 days, or both.