City of Hornell, NY
Steuben County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
[HISTORY: Adopted by the Common Council of the City of Hornell 3-22-1988 (Sec. 15-9 of Ch. 15 of the 1970 Municipal Code). Amendments noted where applicable.]
GENERAL REFERENCES
Vehicles and traffic — See Ch. 300.
Zoning — See Ch. 315.

§ 296-1 Outside storage limited.

[Amended 11-15-2010]
In all residence, commercial, business or industrial districts, there shall be no outside storage of any unregistered and/or unlicensed motor vehicle for a period longer than 30 days in any calendar year. Such unregistered or unlicensed motor vehicle shall be at all times while being so stored kept in such condition and maintained that it will meet the minimum requirements to pass the New York State motor vehicle inspection standards as provided by the Vehicle and Traffic Law of New York and all rules and regulations promulgated by the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles for the periodic inspection of motor vehicles in the State of New York, as the same may be amended from time to time. The outside storage of any other motor vehicle is prohibited, except for such unregistered or unlicensed motor vehicle belonging to a member of the armed forces of the United States who is serving on active military duty. Any storage for junkyards, garages or car repairs shops is permitted for a period of no longer than 30 days. After such time, said vehicles must and shall be removed from the City of Hornell. There shall be no outside storage in any residence district of motor vehicle bodies or motor vehicle parts at any time.[1]
[1]
Editor's Note: Former § 15-9(b), Notice to owner, which immediately followed this subsection, was deleted 12-28-1992 by L.L. No. 4-1992.

§ 296-2 Notice of violation sticker.

[Amended 12-28-1992 by L.L. No. 4-1992]
A sticker will be placed on vehicles in violation of this chapter stating that "this vehicle may be impounded if it is not removed within 24 hours."

§ 296-3 Reclaiming of vehicle; charges; disposition of unclaimed vehicles.

Any vehicle so removed may be reclaimed and shall be subject to a mandatory charge of $50, plus a storage charge of $5 per day. If a vehicle is not claimed within 30 days from impounding, the City shall dispose of said vehicle in an approved and sanitary manner so as not to create a nuisance to the general public.

§ 296-4 Penalties for offenses.

[Amended 12-28-1992 by L.L. No. 4-1992]
Anyone who shall violate any provision of this chapter, in addition to any other charges imposed by removal and storage of said vehicle, shall be punishable as provided in § 1-1 of the Code.