Town of Leonardtown, MD
St. Marys County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
[HISTORY: Adopted by the Commissioners (now Mayor and Council) of the Town of Leonardtown 6-1-1949 by Ord. No. 24. Amendments noted where applicable.]
GENERAL REFERENCES
Fees, charges and rates — See Ch. 69.
Licensing generally — See Ch. 89.

§ 56-1 License required; issuance.

By virtue of the authority contained in Chapter 417 of the Laws of the State of Maryland for the year 1949, no coin-operated machine shall be placed for use or operation in the corporate limits of the Town of Leonardtown by any owner or possessor of such machine unless and until a license for each such machine shall have been obtained from the Clerk of the Circuit Court for St. Mary's County, Maryland, who is hereby authorized to issue such licenses in name of the Commissioners of Leonardtown[1], as hereinafter provided.
[1]
Editor's Note: Pursuant to the 1989 Charter, the Commissioners of Leonardtown are now the Mayor and Council of the Town of Leonardtown.

§ 56-2 License fee; disposition.

[Amended 3-14-1994 by Ord. No. 78]
An annual fee as set forth from time to time by the Mayor and Council shall be charged for each such license so issued as aforesaid, to be obtained by the owner of any such machine on or before the first day of May, 1950, and on or before the first day of May in each and every succeeding year, said license fees to be paid over to the Clerk to the Mayor and Council of the Town of Leonardtown by said Clerk of the Circuit Court for St. Mary's County, Maryland, and deposited by said Clerk to the Mayor and Council of the Town of Leonardtown to the account of said Mayor and Council in the general fund of the Town of Leonardtown.

§ 56-3 Violations and penalties.

A. 
Any person, firm or corporation failing to comply with the aforegoing provisions of this chapter shall be subject to a fine of not less than $200 nor more than $500, plus 10% of the license fee unpaid, to be accounted from said first day of June of the year in which said license should have been obtained.
B. 
To the aforesaid fee for every license which should have been obtained on or before the first day of May in any year but which is not obtained until on or after the first day of June of such year shall be added a penalty in the amount of 10% per month of such license fee; provided, however, that no abatement of any such license fee shall be made in the event such license is obtained for any fractional part of a year.