## ORDINANCE NO. 2020-01

## AN ORDINANCE OF THE TOWNSHIP OF SWATARA, DAUPHIN COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA, TO REDUCE THE NUMBER OF MEMBERS OF THE TOWNSHIP PLANNING COMMISSION FROM NINE TO FIVE

WHEREAS, Swatara Township (the "Township") is a first class township in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania; and

WHEREAS, as a first class township, the Township is governed by the First Class Township Code of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, 53 P.S. §§ 55101, *et seq.*; and

WHEREAS, Article XV of the First Class Township Code, 53 P.S. § 56502, authorizes a first class township to adopt resolutions and Ordinances prescribing the manner in which powers of the township shall be carried out, and generally regulating the affairs of the township; and

WHEREAS, the Municipalities Planning Code empowers the Township to establish a Planning Commission; and

WHEREAS, the Township previously established a Planning Commission of nine members and now wishes to reduce the number of Planning Commission members to five; and

WHEREAS, section 203(d) of the Municipalities Planning Code, 53 P.S. § 10203(d), authorizes the Township to reduce the number of members of its Planning Commission as provided by law; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to the authority afforded it, the Board of Commissioners of Swatara Township desires to reduce the number of Planning Commission members from nine to five; and

WHEREAS, five of the current nine members of the Swatara Township Planning Commission have terms that expire December 31, 2019; and

WHEREAS, the Township's Board of Commissioners deems it in the best interest and for the general welfare of the residents and visitors of the Township to enact the provisions set forth herein.

NOW, THEREFORE, be it ordained and enacted by the Board of Commissioners of the Township of Swatara, Dauphin County, Pennsylvania, pursuant to the First Class Township Code, as amended, and the Municipalities Planning Code, as follows:

SECTION I: The Swatara Township Planning Commission shall, effective January 1, 2020, contain a membership of five and only five members.

SECTION II: This Ordinance shall take effect immediately.

Thom Corel

President of the Board of Commissioners

Attest:

May Kepp Secretary to the Board of Commissioners