[HISTORY: Adopted by the Board of Health of the Township of Cinnaminson 6-20-1961 by Ord. No. 1961-2 (Sec. 3.16 of the 1995 Code). Amendments noted where applicable.]
Editor's Note: A resolution adopted on 9-5-1961 states:
"That all employees of food handling establishments must present a doctor's certificate showing compliance with Section 4, Paragraph 23 of the Retail Food Handling Establishment Code of New Jersey 1952;
That present employees must comply within thirty (30) days of the issuance of a permit and no persons thereafter shall be employed until they have complied with said section."
A code regulating retail food-handling establishments, providing for inspection of such establishments and fixing penalties for violations is hereby established pursuant to N.J.S.A. 26:3-69.1 et seq. and N.J.A.C. 8:24-1.1 et seq. A copy of said code and regulations are annexed hereto and made a part hereof without the inclusion of the text thereof herein.
The said code established and adopted by this chapter is described and commonly known as the "Retail Food Handling Establishment Code of New Jersey."
No person shall operate a retail food handling establishment unless a license or approval of an existing certificate, permit or license to operate same shall have been issued by this Board of Health. Such license or approval of an existing certificate, permit or license shall be posted in a conspicuous place in such establishment.
There shall be a charge for such license or approval of an existing certificate, permit or license. The fees shall include the making of the annual inspection for each retail food handling establishment and one reinspection. If any additional inspections or reinspections are required, the applicant or the licensee shall pay an additional fee as set forth in Chapter 563, Fees, Board of Health, for each of such additional inspections. The fees for establishments serving food for consumption on the premises shall be as set forth in Chapter 563, Fees, Board of Health.
[Amended 12-26-1961 by Ord. No. 1961-7; 5-19-2004 by Ord. No. 2004-2]
Licenses issued or approved under the provisions of this chapter shall expire annually on June 30 of each year, and application for renewal thereof shall be submitted, together with the required fee, prior to June 1 of each year.
A person conducting an itinerant retail food-handling establishment shall secure a license, or if such person is the holder of a certificate, permit or license issued by the Board of Health of another jurisdiction, said certificate, permit or license may be approved by this Board of Health, and there shall be a fee as set forth in Chapter 563, Fees, Board of Health, charged for such approval.
A license or approval of certificate, permit or license may be suspended or revoked for a violation by the holder of any provision of this chapter or code, after an opportunity for a hearing by the Board of Health or its authorized representative.
A license or approval of a certificate, permit or license issued by another Board of Health is not transferable.
[Amended 4-22-1970 by Ord. No. 1970-5]
Any person or persons, partnership, firm or corporation violating any of the provisions of this chapter or of the Retail Food Handling Establishment Code of New Jersey, made a part hereof, shall, upon conviction thereof, pay a penalty of not less than $2 nor more than $500. Each day a particular violation continues shall constitute a separate offense.