Township of Mount Laurel, NJ
Burlington County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
[HISTORY: Adopted by the Board of Health of the Township of Mount Laurel 6-10-1959 by Ord. No. 1959-2BH.[1] Amendments noted where applicable.]
[1]
Editor's Note: Pursuant to the adoption of Ord. No. 1971-1, the legislative functions of the former Board of Health are vested in the Township Council. The Council will adopt all amendments to this legislation subsequent to said ordinance.
A code regulating retail food-handling establishments, providing for the inspection of such establishments and fixing penalties for violations is hereby established pursuant to N.J.S.A. 26:3-69.1 to 26:3-69.6. A copy of said code is annexed hereto and made a part hereof without the inclusion of the text thereof herein.
[Amended 9-25-1967 by Ord. No. 1967-1BH]
The said code established and adopted by this chapter is described and commonly known as the "Retail Food Handling Establishment Code of New Jersey (1965)."
[Amended 9-25-1967 by Ord. No. 1967-1BH]
Three copies of the said Retail Food Handling Establishment Code of New Jersey (1965) have been placed on file in the office of the Clerk of the local Board of Health[1] upon the introduction of this chapter and will remain on file until final action is taken on this chapter for use and examination by the public.
[1]
Editor's Note: With the adoption of Ord. No. 1971-1, the administrative functions of the former Board of Health were transferred to the Township Division of Health in whose office copies of the Retail Food Handling Establishment Code are currently on file and available for inspection during regular business hours.
A. 
No person shall operate a retail food-handling establishment unless a license or approval of an existing certificate, permit or license to operate same shall have been issued by this Board of Health.[1] Such license or approval of an existing certificate, permit or license shall be posted in a conspicuous place in such establishment.
[1]
Editor's Note: Certificates, permits and licenses are now issued by the Township Division of Health; see Ch. 4, Administration of Government.
B. 
There shall be a charge of $100 for such license or approval of an existing certificate, permit or license.
[Amended 11-3-1980 by Ord. No. 1980-32; 12-17-1984 by Ord. No. 1984-40; 6-1-2009 by Ord. No. 2009-11]
C. 
Licenses issued or approved under the provisions of this chapter shall expire annually on December 31 of each year, and application for renewal thereof shall be submitted, together with the required fee, prior to December 1 of each year.
[Amended 7-24-1978 by Ord. No. 1978-15]
D. 
A person conducting an itinerant retail food-handling establishment shall secure a license, or if such person is the holder of a certificate, permit or license issued by the Board of Health of another jurisdiction, said certificate, permit or license may be approved by this Board of Health and there shall be a fee of $25 charged for such approval.
[Amended 11-3-1980 by Ord. No. 1980-32; 6-1-2009 by Ord. No. 2009-11]
E. 
A license or an approval of a certificate, permit or license may be suspended or revoked for a violation by the holder of any provision of this chapter or code, after an opportunity for a hearing by the Board of Health or its authorized representative.
F. 
A license or an approval of a certificate, permit or license issued by another Board of Health is not transferable.
In the event of the failure of compliance with any of the provisions of this chapter or of said Food Handling Establishment Code upon any inspection authorized thereunder, the inspecting officer shall make a reinspection within 30 days. A reinspection fee of $2 shall be paid by the owner or operator of said food-handling establishment. The reinspection shall be made as soon as practicable within said thirty-day period, due consideration being given to the danger to public health and the extent of the corrective work required to remedy the noncompliance.
[Amended 10-1-1984 by Ord. No. 1984-33]
Any person who violates any provision of or order promulgated under this chapter or code established herein shall, upon conviction thereof, be liable to a penalty of not less than $10 nor more than $1,000 for each violation. Each day a particular violation continues shall constitute a separate offense.