Town of Dover, MA
Norfolk County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
[HISTORY: Adopted as indicated in article histories. Amendments noted where applicable]
Warrant Committee — See Ch. 4, Art. VI.
Town Report — See Ch. 3.
[Recodified ATM 3-8-1965 by Art. 14]
[Amended ATM 5-7-2001 by Art. 24]
There shall be chosen annually by Town ballot the Moderator, one Selectmen, one Assessor, one or two members of the Dover School Committee, one member of the Dover-Sherborn Regional School Committee, two Library Trustees, one Cemetery Commissioner, one member of the Planning Board, one member of the Board of Health, and one or two members of the Park and Recreation Commission. Every three years three Constables and the Town Clerk shall be chosen, and every five years three Trustees of the Larrabee and Whiting Estates shall be chosen. In the event of a vacancy between elections, replacements shall be elected in accordance with M.G.L. ch. 41, § 11, where applicable.
[Recodified ATM 3-8-1965 by Art. 14]
Warrants for all Town Meetings shall be directed to either of the Constables of the Town, and every Town Meeting shall be notified at least 14 days before the day on which it is to be held by:
Posting copies of the warrant calling the same at the Town House, at the Post Office and in no less than 3 other public places where bills and notices are usually posted; and
Mailing a copy thereof to or leaving the same at the residence of every registered voter.
[Amended ATM 5-3-1988 by Art. 23]
The deliberative session of the Annual Town Meeting shall be held not later than the second Monday in May.
Upon final completion of the deliberative session, the meeting shall be adjourned to a subsequent date, not later than the last day in May as specified in the warrant for the election of Town officers. The polls shall be opened at 7:00 a.m. and shall be closed at 8:00 p.m.
Town officers elected at the Annual Town Election shall be sworn in on the day following the completion of the canvas of the votes after closing of the polls.
One hundred seventy-five of the registered voters shall constitute a quorum at Town Meetings, provided that a number less than a quorum may, from time to time, adjourn the same.
The Town may, by vote at any Town Meeting, decide that action on any article or item in the warrant for such Meeting shall be taken by written ballot at an adjournment of said Meeting, in the same manner as provided for Town elections, and for purposes of such adjourned Meeting no quorum shall be required.
No vote shall be reconsidered at the same Town Meeting unless it is either upon a motion made within 1/2 hour of the adoption of such vote or ordered by 2/3 of the voters present and voting thereon.
[Added ATM 5-5-1998 by Art. 24]
The Moderator may take all votes requiring a two-thirds majority in the same manner in which he conducts the taking of a vote where a simple majority vote is required. If the Moderator's declaration of the vote is immediately questioned by 7 or more voters present, a standing count shall be taken.