Questions about eCode360? Municipal users Join us Monday through Wednesday between 12pm and 1pm EDT to get answers and other tips!
Town of Wheatfield, NY
Niagara County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
[HISTORY: Adopted by the Town Board of the Town of Wheatfield 2-22-1993 by L.L. No. 2-1993. Amendments noted where applicable.]
Assessor — See Ch. 6.
Ethics — See Ch. 15.
Taxation — See Ch. 173.
The Town of Wheatfield believes that it would be beneficial and in the interest of governmental economies to delegate certain of the functions of the Receiver of Taxes[1] to other Town departments and officials. The purpose of this chapter is to effectuate the delegation of certain of such duties.
Editor’s Note: Local Law No. 7-2008, amended, adopted by the Town Board 7-31-2008, approved by referendum 10-7-2008, abolished the office of the Receiver of Taxes and Assessments and assigned the statutory duties of the Receiver of Taxes and Assessments to the Town Clerk.
[Amended 9-15-2008 by L.L. No. 8-2008]
The following duties of the Receiver of Taxes as set forth in Town Law § 37 are hereby delegated as follows:
All bills, permit fees and miscellaneous charges shall be collected by the Town Clerk.
The Town Clerk shall collect all real property taxes and assessments, special district charges and the like within the Town of Wheatfield, except that the Town Board may, but shall not be required to, enter into an agreement to permit any school district located within the Town to collect its own school taxes.
[Amended 7-31-2008 by L.L. No. 7-2008, amended]