City of Española, NM
Rio Arriba County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
[HISTORY: Adopted by the Mayor and Council of the City of Española 12-12-2011 by Ord. No. 2011-07. Amendments noted where applicable.]
Elections — See Ch. 175.
This chapter may be referred to as the "2011 Redistricting Ordinance."
In reestablishing the district boundaries, the governing body considered the following principles in the following order of priority:
Each district shall contain as nearly as possible substantially the same population based upon the most recent federal census.
Redistricting plans must avoid dilution of minority voting strength.
Communities of interest, including those based upon ethnic and economic factors, shall be preserved within a single district whenever reasonable.
Each district shall be formed of compact, contiguous territories.
The total length of all district boundary lines shall be as short as possible.
Redistricting plans shall compensate for 2010 United States Census undercount of minorities.
District boundaries shall be reviewed and revised if necessary following each decennial federal census.
District boundaries shall be reviewed and revised, if necessary, following each decennial federal census.
There are four two-member municipal election districts which include the following precincts and portions of precincts located within the municipal boundaries of the City of Española:
Rio Arriba County Precincts 3, 4, 7, 8, 9, 12, 10, 11, 36 and 40
Santa Fe County Precincts 1, 58, 59 and 79
The boundaries of each municipal election district are shown on the municipal election district map revised as of November 25, 2011, marked as Exhibit A attached hereto and incorporated herein, which is hereby adopted as the official districting map and is to be kept in the custody of the Municipal Clerk.