[HISTORY: Adopted by the Board of Commissioners of the Township of Upper Chichester 10-14-1976 by Ord. No. 358 (Ch. 11, Part 2, of the 1987 Code of Ordinances). Amendments noted where applicable.]
It shall be unlawful for an owner of property in Upper Chichester Township, Delaware County, to sell, or agree to sell, such property without first delivering to the purchaser a certificate executed by the Township, setting forth the zoning classification of such property and a certificate disclosing any notice of an uncorrected violation of any housing, building, safety, or fire ordinance, and any violation of any other Township ordinance pertaining to buildings, and requiring such owners to insert in any agreement of sale of such property a statement concerning zoning classification, legality of the use of such property, and, in addition thereto, a statement concerning uncorrected violations of housing, building, safety or fire ordinances, and any other Township ordinances pertaining to buildings.
The proper officers of the Township are hereby authorized to issue such certificates in duplicate when requested by the seller of property in the Township. Such certificates shall be rendered within 15 days following application.
[Amended 11-17-1987 by Ord. No. 456]
The fee for the issuance of such certificates shall be as established by resolution of the Board of Commissioners, and shall be paid to the Township Secretary.
Upon receipt of said certificates, the seller shall deliver the duplicate or an exact copy of such certificates to the prospective purchaser of the seller's property.
Any person requesting the aforesaid certificates shall produce a title search of the property involved, prepared by the reputable title company doing business in Delaware County. Said report shall be prepared within 90 days of the day the request is made for said certificates. Said title report shall be retained by the Township.
[Amended 11-17-1987 by Ord. No. 456; 12-8-1988 by Ord. No. 465]
Any person, firm or corporation who shall violate any provision of this chapter shall, upon conviction thereof, be sentenced to pay a fine of not more than $1,000, together with the costs of prosecution, and, in default of payment of such fine and costs, shall be subject to imprisonment for a term not to exceed 30 days. Every day that a violation of this chapter continues shall constitute a separate offense.