Township of Berlin, NJ
Camden County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
[Added 6-2-1976 by Ord. No. 76:6]
The governing body of the Township of Berlin shall be composed of the Mayor and four members of Council.
[Added 8-9-2004 by Ord. No. 2004-8]
The term of the Mayor of the Township shall be set at four years, beginning with the election of November 2005.
[Added 8-9-2004 by Ord. No. 2004-8]
Each Council member shall continue to be elected for a term of three years.
[Added 5-9-2011 by Ord. No. 2011-8]
Each member of the governing body shall complete a basic course on their responsibilities and obligations in local government in the following subject matters:
Policy setting;
Local government contracting;
Risk management; and
The Open Public Records Act.[1]
Editor's Note: See N.J.S.A. 47:1A-1 et seq.
These courses shall be coordinated through Rutgers University; the County and State League of Municipalities; Mayors Association; New Jersey Association of Counties; and Joint Insurance Funds.
Upon completion of these courses, members shall not be required to repeat these courses in any subsequent term as a member of the governing body.
[Amended 8-26-2000 by Ord. No. 2002-14]
Regular meetings of the governing body of the Township shall be held on the second and fourth Mondays of each month commencing at 7:30 p.m.
The order of business at a regular meeting shall be as follows:
Opening and roll call.
Approval of minutes.
Financial reports.
Old business.
New business.
Meeting open to the public.