[CC 1997 §10-1]
For the purpose of this Chapter, the terms "business", "trade" and "occupation" shall be construed to mean all manner of businesses, trades, and avocations whatsoever transacted, conducted, and carried on for gain, profit, or as a means of livelihood in the City of Branson West, Stone County, Missouri.
[CC 1997 §10-2; Ord. No. 10-2015, 7-7-2015]
It shall be the duty of every person or persons, firm, partnership, corporation, and every other business entity recognized by the Missouri Secretary of State transacting, conducting and carrying on business, trade or avocation whatsoever for gain, profit, or as a means of livelihood within the corporate limits of the City of Branson West, Missouri, to apply to and secure from the City Clerk of said City, or other representative of said City authorized to receive such monies and issue such license, a license for transacting, conducting and carrying on such business, trade or avocation before he/she, they or it shall transact, conduct and carry on such business, trade or avocation within City limits.
The licenses issued by the City Clerk under this Section shall have a duration of one (1) year annual license or for a period of up to five (5) days (referred to as a special event business license).
[CC 1997 §10-3; Ord. No. 1118 §1, 4-18-1996; Ord. No. 10-2015, 7-7-2015]
There is hereby levied a license tax on all businesses, trades, occupations, and avocations hereinafter set out and which are transacted, conducted and carried on within the corporate limits of said City; the amount to be fifty dollars ($50.00) per year for each business, unless such person qualifies as a "peddler" defined in Article II, or ten dollars ($10.00) for a special event business license.
No person following for a livelihood the profession or calling of minister of the gospel, duly accredited Christian Science practitioner, teacher, professor in a college, priest, lawyer, certified public accountant, dentist, chiropractor, optometrist, chiropodist, or physician or surgeon in this City shall be taxed or made liable to pay any municipal or other corporation tax or license fee of any description whatever for the privilege of following or carrying on such profession or calling, and after December 31, 2003, no investment funds service corporation as defined in Section 143.451, RSMo., may be required to pay any such license fee in excess of twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000.00) annually, any law, ordinance or Charter to the contrary notwithstanding.
No person following for a livelihood the profession of insurance agent or broker, veterinarian, architect, professional engineer, land surveyor, auctioneer, or real estate broker or salesman in this City shall be taxed or made liable to pay any municipal or other corporation tax or license fee for the privilege of following or carrying on his/her profession unless that person maintains a business office within the City of Branson West.
[CC 1997 §10-5; Ord. No. 1237 §10-5, 3-13-2001; Ord. No. 10-2015, 7-7-2015]
All annual licenses shall run from the first (1st) day of June until the last day of May the following year. If license is purchased after January first (1st), the fee will be prorated at five dollars ($5.00) per month for the remaining part of that year and will expire on May thirty-first (31st). No refunds will be made for licenses purchased for any part of a remaining year.
A special event business license shall run for the duration of the special event business license issued under Zoning Code Section 420.020 which is referenced in the application for the special event business license.
[CC 1997 §10-6]
No license issued under the provisions of the Chapter shall be transferred to another person or business entity.
[CC 1997 §10-7]
The City Clerk is required to keep accurate records of all licenses issued under the provisions of this Chapter, and shall record to whom issued, for what business, the period of time and the amount of tax received on same.
[CC 1997 §10-35]
It shall be unlawful for any person or persons, firm, partnership, corporation, or any other business entity recognized by the Missouri Secretary of State, or anyone acting as agent, employee or in any other manner therefor, to engage in the business of peddling any goods, wares, merchandise, or services within the corporate limits of the City of Branson West, Missouri, without first having obtained a license therefor from the City Clerk. Except however, it shall not be necessary to obtain such license whenever the above described activity is transacted with the owner of or agent from a licensed place of business in the City.
[CC 1997 §10-36]
Within the meaning of this Chapter, a "peddler" is defined to be any person or business entity who shall deal in the selling of patents, patent rights, patent or other medicines, goods, wares, merchandise, books, magazines, stationery, and services, except agricultural and horticultural products, who has not an established place of business in said City in which sales are made and conducted, but who goes about from place to place to sell the same.
[CC 1997 §10-37]
It shall be unlawful for any person or business entity, or agent or employee, to engage in the business of soliciting or canvassing orders for future delivery of goods, wares or merchandise at retail from stocks not carried in the City without first having obtained a license therefor from the City Clerk.
[CC 1997 §10-38; Ord. No. 1237 §10-38, 3-13-2001]
The license fee for either peddling or soliciting and canvassing shall be twenty-five dollars ($25.00) plus an additional ten dollars ($10.00) per salesman, which sum shall be paid to the City Clerk before issuance of such license and shall be valid for a period of five (5) days. The City Clerk shall not issue or re-issue a license to any person or entity who cannot show satisfactory proof of payment of all relevant sales tax upon demand.
[CC 1997 §10-39; Ord. No. 1237 §10-39, 3-13-2001]
Any person or business entity, or anyone acting as agent, employee or in any other manner engaged in the above described activity, defined as "peddling", in the City of Branson West, Missouri, without first having obtained a license as herein provided shall be deemed guilty of a misdemeanor, and upon conviction shall be fined in any sum not less than fifty dollars ($50.00) nor more than five hundred dollars ($500.00) for each offense.