Village of Pittsford, NY
Monroe County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents

§ 195-22 Penalties for offenses.

[Amended 11-14-1995 by L.L. No. 4-1995; 9-9-1997 by L.L. No. 8-1997]
A. 
Every person convicted of a traffic infraction for a violation of any provision of this chapter which is not a violation of any provision of the Vehicle and Traffic Law of the State of New York shall, for a first conviction thereof, be punished by a fine of not more than $100 or by imprisonment for not more than 15 days, or by both such fine and imprisonment; for a second such conviction within 18 months thereafter, such person shall be punished by a fine of not more than $200 or by imprisonment for not more than 45 days, or by both such fine and imprisonment; upon a third or subsequent conviction within 18 months after the first conviction, such person shall be punished by a fine of not more than $300 or by imprisonment for not more than 90 days or by both such fine and imprisonment. However, for each parking violation of the fire lanes established pursuant to this chapter and to the Uniform Fire Prevention and Building Code of the State of New York, the minimum fine shall be $50 for each conviction.
B. 
Additional penalties.
(1) 
In addition to the penalties and other mandates promulgated herein for the enforcement of this chapter, the following parking violations will carry the following fines for the following specific offenses:
[Amended 5-12-2009 by L.L. No. 11-2009]
Offense
Fine
Overtime parking
$30
On sidewalk or crosswalk
$30
More than 12 inches from curb
$30
In front of driveway
$30
Left side to curb
$30
Less than 20 feet from crosswalk or intersection
$30
Within 30 feet of a traffic control device
$30
Other
$30
No standing zone
$30
No parking zone
$30
Loading zone
$30
Bus stop
$30
Uninspected motor vehicle
$30
Night parking, 2:00 a.m. to 6:00 a.m. (Nov. 1 to Apr. 15)
$30
Abandoned vehicle
$30
Less than 15 feet from hydrant
$30
Less than 20 feet from fire hall entrance
$30
Unattended vehicle
$30
Handicapped zone
$75
Fire lane
$75
(2) 
Additional penalties to the above schedule. Said fine, if not paid, shall double within 15 days of the initial court appearance date. Said fine, if not paid, shall triple within 30 days of the initial court appearance date. In addition, any fine not paid within 30 days of the initial court appearance date shall be increased by any costs and/or expenses incurred in the collection of such fine. In no event shall any fine be greater than that provided for in Section 1800 of the New York State Vehicle and Traffic Law.
[Amended 6-11-2002 by L.L. No. 3-2002]

§ 195-23 When effective.

A. 
Except those parts, if any, which are subject to approval under § 1684 of the Vehicle and Traffic Law of the State of New York, this chapter and any regulations adopted hereunder shall take effect as provided by law.
B. 
Any part or parts of this chapter and any regulations adopted hereunder which are subject to approval under § 1684 of the Vehicle and Traffic Law of the State of New York shall take effect from and after the day on which approval, in writing, is received from the New York State Department of Transportation.

§ 195-24 Severability.

If any article, section, subsection, paragraph, sentence, clause or provision of this chapter shall be adjudged by any court of competent jurisdiction to be invalid, such adjudication shall not affect, impair or invalidate the remainder thereof but shall be confined in its operation to the article, section, subsection, paragraph, sentence, clause or provision thereof directly involved in the controversy in which such judgment shall have been rendered.

§ 195-25 Repealer.

All prior ordinances, regulations and rules or parts thereof of this Village regulating traffic and parking are hereby repealed, except that this repeal shall not affect or prevent the prosecution or punishment of any person for any act done or committed in violation of any ordinance, regulation or rule hereby repealed prior to the taking effect of this chapter.