City of Haverhill, MA
Essex County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
[Adopted 5-13-1980 by Doc. 106; amended in its entirety 12-19-2000 by Doc. 154 (Ch. 6 of the 1980 Code)]
There shall be established the Haverhill Cultural Council.
The Council shall consist of no fewer than seven and not more than 22 members.
The members shall be appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the City Council.
[Amended 7-10-2007 by Doc. 76]
The members of the Council shall appoint various advisory boards and committees as they deem necessary.
[Amended 7-10-2007 by Doc. 76]
The Mayor shall appoint a designee to oversee the administration of all arts appropriations and all grants, both public and private, and shall be liaison to all existing arts groups in the City and all state and federal agencies.
Members of the Council, in the first four years, shall be drawn from a reservoir of interested citizens represented in the arts community and the business sector. In the fifth year and thereafter members must have served a minimum of two years on the various committees and advisory boards and/or as Mayor or City Councillor. Members must be residents of the City of Haverhill.
Tenure of the members shall be for three-year terms, limited to two consecutive terms. Members must remain off the Haverhill Cultural Council for a one-year interval before serving additional terms.
Members of the Council shall serve without compensation.
The Council shall adopt rules necessary for its operation and have same placed on file with the City Clerk, the Mayor and the City Council. These rules and this article shall be reviewed and updated every six years.
The purpose of the Haverhill Cultural Council shall be to meet to plan and produce community arts programming, to act as artistic and/or aesthetic advisor to the City and to the Mayor and the City Council and to attract and apply for such funds, public and private, as may be forthcoming.
Said Council shall have the following officers: Chairman, Vice Chairman and Secretary. They shall meet annually for the purpose of organization, election of officers and submitting their annual report.