The following words, terms and phrases, when used in this article, shall have the meanings ascribed to them in this section, except where the context clearly indicates a different meaning:
- PUBLIC DANCE HALL
- Any place open to the general public where dancing is permitted.
It shall be unlawful for any person to operate a public dance hall in the Town between the hours of 2:00 a.m. and 6:00 p.m. on any day and, except when New Year's Eve falls on a Sunday, from 12:00 midnight on each Saturday night until 6:00 a.m. the following Monday.
It shall be unlawful for any person conducting a public dance hall to allow any person under the age of 16 years to enter or to remain in such public dance hall while dancing is being conducted therein unless accompanied by a parent or legal guardian or by a brother or sister over the age of 21 years or except upon the written consent of such parent or legal guardian.
Any person found guilty of a violation of the provisions of this article shall be guilty of a class 3 misdemeanor.
No person shall operate a public dance hall in the Town unless such person has obtained a written permit from the Town Council. No permit shall be issued unless the person desiring to obtain a public dance hall permit provides satisfactory evidence that he has complied with all applicable provisions of the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code and the Virginia Fire Hazards Law (Code of Virginia, Title 27).
Any permit issued pursuant to the provisions of this article shall be revoked for any violation of the provisions of this article. No permit shall be revoked prior to reasonable notice being given to the permittee and without a hearing for cause before the Town Council. Revocation of such permit shall not bar prosecution for a violation of the provisions of this article.