Questions about eCode360? Municipal users Join us daily between 12pm and 1pm EDT to get answers and other tips!
Town of Appomattox, VA
Appomattox County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
[Amended 4-10-1995; 6-30-2008]
[1]
Charter reference: Town vehicle license, § 16.
State law reference: Local vehicle license, Code of Virginia, § 46.2-752 et seq.
A. 
Every person who shall own or lease a motor vehicle normally garaged, stored or parked in the Town shall pay an annual Town license fee for such vehicle, as required herein.
B. 
Persons who establish residence in the Town during the license year shall comply with the provisions of this article within 30 days subsequent to establishing such residence.
C. 
The situs for the imposition of licensing fees under this article shall in all cases, except as hereinafter provided, be the locality in which the motor vehicle is normally garaged, stored, or parked. If it cannot be determined where the personal property is normally garaged, stored, or parked, the situs shall be the domicile of its owner. In the event the owner of the motor vehicle is a full-time student attending an institution of higher education, the situs shall be the domicile of such student, provided the student has presented sufficient evidence that he has paid a personal property tax on the motor vehicle in his domicile.
[1]
State law reference: Limitations on imposition of motor vehicle license taxes, Code of Virginia, § 46.2-755.
A. 
There is hereby assessed to any person owning a motor vehicle normally garaged, stored or parked in the Town of Appomattox on January 1 of each year an Appomattox Town motor vehicle license fee.
B. 
The Chief of each volunteer fire department and volunteer emergency rescue squad will prepare and certify a list of active members of his department or squad who regularly respond to calls or perform other duties for the department or squad and who reside within the corporate limits. The certified list will include the complete name of each individual, his residence address, and the identification number and description of the cars owned or leased by such active member and to be certified for the exemption. Each individual so certified will complete the required application form and submit it to his Chief, who will attach all individual applications to the certified listing and submit to the Treasurer of the Town. After reviewing and comparing the certified listings and applications with the personal property tax rolls, the Treasurer will exempt to each certified member two license fees without charge. No member of a volunteer rescue squad or volunteer fire department shall be issued an exception for more than two vehicles free of charge.
A. 
On each and every passenger vehicle and truck there shall be an annual license fee of $25; and on each and every motorcycle, with or without a sidecar, a license fee of $24.
B. 
The amount of the license fee imposed by the Town of Appomattox under this article shall not be greater than the amount of the license fee imposed by the commonwealth on said vehicle.
C. 
Transitional provisions effective for 2008 license year only. Notwithstanding the preceding subsections, in order to adjust the amount of the vehicle license fee for the 2008 license year in recognition of the transition from the former due date of March 31, 2008, for decals to the new due date of September 30, 2008, for vehicle license fees, the vehicle fee for the 2008 license year only is hereby reduced such that the fee shall be $18 on each and every passenger vehicle and truck and is hereby reduced such that the fee on each and every motorcycle shall be $17. This Subsection C shall automatically expire on or before September 30, 2008, and all annual Town license fees for the 2009 license year shall be payable on or before September 30 of each year, beginning September 30, 2009. All other license fees for vehicles not set out herein shall be adjusted in the same manner for the 2008 license year.
A. 
The provisions of this article shall not be construed as to impose a license fee upon any motor vehicle when the motor vehicle is operated by a common carrier of persons or property operating between cities and towns in this commonwealth and not in intracity transportation or between cities and towns on the one hand and points and places without cities and towns on the other and not in intracity transportation.
B. 
Antique motor vehicles and antique trailers, as defined in Code of Virginia, § 46.2-100, registered and licensed by the state in accordance with Code of Virginia, § 46.2-730A shall be exempt from the payment of the license fee levied under this article, provided that other conditions prescribed herein are met.
(1) 
In order to qualify for exemption hereunder, an antique motor vehicle and antique trailer registered and licensed under Code of Virginia, § 46.2-730 shall not be used for general transportation purposes, including, but not limited to, daily travel to and from the owner's place of employment, but shall be used only:
(a) 
For participation in club activities, exhibits, tours, parades, and similar events; and
(b) 
On the highway of the commonwealth for the purpose of testing their operation, obtaining repairs or maintenance, transportation to and from events as described in Subsection B(1)(a), and for occasional pleasure-driving not exceeding 250 miles from the residence of the owner.
C. 
All fees collected pursuant to this article shall be deposited by the Treasurer in the general fund of the Town.
A. 
No motor vehicle shall be licensed by the Department of Motor Vehicles until the applicant for such license has paid all personal property taxes and the license fee assessed hereunder upon the motor vehicle to be licensed, and until the Department of Motor Vehicles has been provided satisfactory evidence by the Treasurer of the Town of Appomattox that any delinquent motor vehicle, personal property taxes or license fees which have been properly assessed or are assessable against the applicant by the Town have been paid.
B. 
No motor vehicle license shall be issued by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles unless the tangible personal property taxes properly assessed or assessable by the Town on any tangible personal property used or usable as a dwelling and owned by the taxpayer have been paid.
C. 
No motor vehicle license shall be issued by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles to an owner of a motor vehicle as to which a fee is required to be paid pursuant to this article, qualified under the provisions hereof for a waiver of the fee, until the applicant for such license or registration from the Department of Motor Vehicles has produced before the Appomattox Town Treasurer, or his agent, satisfactory evidence that all personal property taxes upon the motor vehicle have been paid and satisfactory evidence of any delinquent personal property taxes due with respect to the vehicle which have been properly assessed or are assessable against the owner have been paid.
[Amended 4-11-2016]
The license year with respect to which the fee required to be paid under this article is assessed shall be January 1 through December 31 of each year. The fee assessed under this article shall be assessed to the owner of each motor vehicle as provided in this article for motor vehicles owned January 1 of each year. The fee shall be payable on or before September 30 of each year. The fee herein assessed will be based upon ownership of vehicles on fee day, that is, January 1 of each year.
[Amended 7-13-2015; 8-29-2017]
A. 
In the event that the license fee required by this Article is not paid, or if any personal property taxes, properly assessed against such vehicle, are not paid on or before September 30 of each year, with respect to each owner or co-owner of any motor vehicle as to which the license fee has not been paid, or any personal property taxes have not been paid, the Treasurer shall mail to the owner/co-owner by first-class mail notice of intent to request the Commonwealth of Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles under the Vehicle Registration Withholding Program to deny his or her registration renewal with respect to the vehicle which is subject to the license fee or personal property tax herein. In the event of payment of that vehicle license fee and/or delinquent personal property taxes, the Treasurer shall provide the vehicle owner/co-owner an approved numbered receipt that clearly indicate that the vehicle fees and delinquent taxes to the locality, together with the penalty, interests and administrative fee herein above set forth.
B. 
It shall be unlawful for any owner of a motor vehicle to fail to pay the local license fee or personal property taxes assessed with respect to each motor vehicle after September 30 of each year, and with respect to any fees not paid at that time, a fee of $45 to reimburse the Town of Appomattox for costs associated with administration of the Vehicle Registration Withholding Program with the Commonwealth of Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles shall be assessed.
C. 
A violation of this section shall constitute a Class 4 misdemeanor and shall be punished by a fine of $100.
D. 
A violation of this section by the registered owner of the vehicle shall not be discharged by prepayment of a fine or by payment of a fine imposed by the court except upon presentation of satisfactory evidence that the required license has been obtained.