Questions about eCode360? Municipal users Join us daily between 12pm and 1pm EDT to get answers and other tips!
City of Oswego, NY
Oswego County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
[HISTORY: Adopted by the Common Council of the City of Oswego 11-28-1994 by L.L. No. 8-1994. Amendments noted where applicable.]
Business Improvement Districts — See Ch. 87.
Waterfront revitalization — See Ch. 267.
Zoning — See Ch. 280.
The City of Oswego Common Council hereby finds it appropriate to expand and establish new boundaries for the Oswego Economic Development Zone, as designated by the State of New York on June 22, 1988, to include portions of the Town of Scriba and additional land within the City of Oswego.
The City of Oswego Common Council hereby establishes by local law that which was previously approved by resolution in the 1988 Economic Development Zone Application and subsequently by Resolution Nos. 389-1990, 674-1992 and 392-1994.
The City of Oswego Common Council hereby authorizes the establishment and expansion of said Economic Development Zone as set forth in Exhibit A attached hereto.[1]
Editor's Note: Exhibit A is on file in the office of the City Clerk. The boundaries of the Economic Development Zone were amended 4-14-2003 by L.L. No. 1-2003. The boundaries of the Empire Zone were further amended 12-12-2005 by L.L. No. 1-2005 to comply with amendments to General Municipal Law §§ 957 and 961 which require municipalities to configure Empire Zone acreage into three distinct and contiguous areas. A complete description of the changes is on file in the office of the City Clerk.
The Economic Development Zone Board shall consist of the following:
The Mayor of the City of Oswego, or designee.
The Oswego County Legislature Chairman, or designee.
The Supervisor of the Town of Scriba, or designee.
The President of the City of Oswego's Common Council, or designee.
The Chairman of the County of Oswego IDA, or designee.
The City Engineer for the City of Oswego, or designee.
The President of Operation Oswego County, Inc., or designee.
A representative of the Oswego County Private Industry Council (to be appointed by the Mayor and who must be a resident of the City of Oswego).
The President of the Greater Oswego Chamber of Commerce, or designee.
The Chairman of the Port of Oswego Authority.
A representative of the employers located in the zone (to be appointed by the Mayor).
The City Attorney.
The Director of the City of Oswego's Community Development Office.
A representative of the banking and/or the financial community (to be appointed by the Mayor and who must be a resident of the City of Oswego).
A labor representative.
The Oswego City Chamberlain is hereby designated as the zone certifying official who is responsible for certifying with the State Commissioners of Economic Development and Labor the eligibility of business enterprises for the various benefits available through state law creating the zone.
The City of Oswego, pursuant to applicable state regulations and laws, hereby offers a three-year unlimited supply of water, without cost, for all businesses duly certified under the Economic Development Zone Program that choose to expand or locate in that part of the designated Economic Development Zone located within the corporate City limits of Oswego.