Town of Newington, CT
Hartford County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
[HISTORY: Adopted by the Town Council of the Town of Newington as indicated in article histories. Amendments noted where applicable.]
GENERAL REFERENCES
Parental responsibility — See Ch. 299.
[Adopted 7-13-1936 (§ 9-7 of the 1974 Code)]
Alcoholic liquor shall be allowed to be sold with meals on Sunday between the hours of 12:00 noon and 9:00 p.m. in hotels, restaurants and clubs in accordance with C.G.S. § 30-91.
[Adopted 9-25-2001 by Ord. No. 9901-2]
As used in this article, the following terms shall have the meanings indicated:
ALCOHOLIC LIQUOR
Shall have the same meaning as the same term is defined in Title 30, § 30-1 of the Connecticut General Statutes, as amended from time to time.
HOST
To organize a gathering of two or more persons, or to allow the premises under one's control to be used with one's knowledge for a gathering of two or more persons for personal, social or business interaction.
MINOR
Shall have the same meaning as the same term is defined in Title 30, § 30-1 of the Connecticut General Statutes, which states a "minor" means any person under 21 years of age.
No minor shall be in possession of alcoholic liquors, whether in opened or closed containers or otherwise, within the Town or Newington except when accompanied by or in the presence of his or her parent, guardian or spouse who has attained the age of 21. This restriction shall apply to both public and private property.
No person shall host an event or gathering at which alcoholic liquor is consumed by or dispensed to any minor unless said minor is accompanied by or in the presence of his or her parent, guardian, or spouse who has attained the age of 21. This restriction shall apply to any event or gathering within the Town of Newington, whether conducted on public or private property.
[Amended 10-23-2007 by Ord. No. 0507-1]
A. 
Any host or minor violating any provision of this article shall be subject to a fine not to exceed $90 for the first offense as provided for in § 1-6 of this Code, and for any subsequent offense shall be fined not less than $90 nor more than $250.
The provisions of this article shall not apply to a minor who possesses alcoholic liquor on the order of a practicing physician.