[HISTORY: Adopted by the Board of Health of the Borough of Brooklawn 10-2-1968 by Ord. No. 181. Amendments noted where applicable.]
Mercantile licenses — See Ch. 107.
A code regulating retail food establishments and fixing penalties for violations is hereby established pursuant to N.J.S.A. 26:3-69.1 to 3-69.6. A copy of said code is annexed hereto and made a part hereof without the inclusion of the text thereof herein.
The said code established and adopted by this chapter is described and commonly known as the “Retail Food Establishment Code of New Jersey (1965)”.
Editor's Note: Note that there are also regulations in Chapter 12 of the State Sanitary Code entitled “Construction, Operation and Maintenance of Retail Food Establishments.”
Three copies of the said Retail Food Establishment Code of New Jersey (1965) have been placed on file in the office of the Secretary of this local Board of Health upon the introduction of this chapter and will remain on file there until final action is taken on this chapter for use and examination by the public.
[Added 4-21-1986 by Ord. No. 8-86]
No person shall operate a retail food establishment unless a license or approval of an existing certificate, permit or license to operate same shall have been issued by the Board of Health. Such license or approval of an existing certificate, permit or license shall be posted in a conspicuous place in such establishment.
There shall be a charge of $10 for such license or approval of an existing certificate, permit or license.
[Amended 10-16-2006 by Ord. No. 12-06]
Licenses issued or approved under the provisions of this chapter shall expire annually on January 1 of each year, and application for renewal thereof shall be submitted, together with the required fee, prior to December 1 of each year.
A license or approval of certificate, permit or license may be suspended or revoked for a violation by the holder of any provision of this chapter or code after an opportunity for a hearing by the Board of Health or its authorized representative.
A license or approval of a certificate, permit or license issued by another Board of Health is not transferable.
[Amended 4-21-1986 by Ord. No. 8-86]
Any person who violates any provision of or order promulgated under this chapter or code established herein shall, upon conviction thereof, be liable to a penalty of not less than $2 nor more than $500 for each violation. Each day a particular violation continues shall constitute a separate offense.