## **BOROUGH OF BRIDGEPORT**

## **RESOLUTION 2024-003**

## A RESOLUTION OF THE BOROUGH OF BRIDGEPORT, MONTGOMERY COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA, APPOINTING

## CIVIL SERVICE COMMISSIONERS

WHEREAS, The Borough Code Act 37 of 2014, Section 1001, specifies that the Borough shall organize on the first Monday of January of even-numbered years to elect a president and a vice president; and

WHEREAS, The Borough Code Act 37 of 2014, Section 1001, specifies that the Borough may appoint other officers as may be provided by law;

WHEREAS, The three (3) Civil Service Commissioners are appointed for a staggered six (6) year term and currently the Board is made up of the following appointed Commissioners:

- DeShawn Williams was appointed in 2023 as the Civil Service Commission Alternate, with a term ending 12/31/2023.
- Peter DiSanto's Commissioner term ends on 12/31/2027; however, he submitted his resignation to Borough Council in 2023. Therefore, his position will be filled at this reorganization meeting.
- Michael Hays's term ends 12/31/2023; Therefore, his position will be filled at this reorganization meeting.
- Dennis Orangers is a member of the commission, and his term ends 12/31/25.

**BE IT RESOLVED**, that the Borough Council of the Borough of Bridgeport has duly appointed Michael Hays to a six-year term, ending December 31, 2029.

**BE IT RESOLVED**, that the Borough Council for the Borough of Bridgeport has appointed DeShawn Williams to fulfill the vacancy on the Commission left by Peter DiSanto which expires December 31, 2027.

**RESOLVED AND ENACTED** by Borough Council of the Borough of Bridgeport this 2nd day of January 2024.

ATTEST:

'H S. TRUMAN SECRETARY

BOROUGH OF BRIDGEPORT BOROUGH COUNCIL

Saba Al-Taid

SABA AL-ZAID PRESIDENT

Approved by the Mayor of the Borough of Bridgeport, this 2nd day of January

2024.

BETH JACKSIER MAYOR