CITY OF COLUMBIA, ILLINOIS ORDINANCE NO. 3577

AN ORDINANCE TO PROVIDE FOR THE APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS OF CERTAIN BOARDS, COMMISSIONS AND COMMITTEES OF THE CITY OF COLUMBIA, ILLINOIS FOR THE FISCAL YEAR OF THE CITY COMMENCING MAY 1, 2021 AND ENDING APRIL 30, 2022

- WHEREAS, the City of Columbia ("City"), Monroe and St. Clair Counties, Illinois is a duly created, organized and validly existing municipality of the State of Illinois under the 1970 Illinois Constitution and the laws of the State of Illinois, including particularly the Illinois Municipal Code, and all laws amendatory thereof and supplementary thereto; and
- WHEREAS, the nine (9) members of the Columbia Plan Commission are appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the City Council, to serve for a term of three (3) years (65 ILCS 5/11-12-4 and Municipal Code Sections 2.32.010 and 2.32.020); and
- WHEREAS, three (3) of the nine (9) members of the Columbia Library Board of Directors, shall be appointed annually by the Mayor with the approval of the City Council, not more than one (1) of the directors being a member of the City Council, to serve three (3) year terms (75 ILCS 5/4-1 and Municipal Code Sections 2.48.010 and 2.48.020); and
- WHEREAS, one (1) member of the Board of Fire and Police Commissioners, which consists of three (3) members serving three (3) year terms, shall be appointed by the Mayor each year with the advice and consent of the City Council (65 ILCS 5/10-2.1-1 and Municipal Code Section 2.46.040); and
- WHEREAS, two (2) of the five (5) members of the Board of Trustees of the Police Pension Fund shall be appointed by the Mayor to serve for a term of two (2) years, beginning the second Tuesday of May of the year of appointment (40 ILCS 5/3-128 and Municipal Code Section 2.66.030); and
- WHEREAS, by the Historic Site Preservation Ordinance of the City (City Ordinance No. 2483, enacted 8/7/06) the Columbia Heritage and Preservation Commission shall consist of nine (9) voting members who are residents of the City or who own real property in the City, four (4) to be appointed on odd numbered years and five (5) to be appointed on even numbered years, are appointed to two (2) year terms by the Mayor with the approval of the City Council, excepting that the residency requirement may be waived for not more than three (3) members who, in the opinion of the Mayor and the City Council, possess special knowledge or expertise in historic preservation or local history (Municipal Code Sections 15.64.030, 15.64.040 and 15.64.050).

Ordinance No. 3577 Page 1 of 4

WHEREAS, the nine (9) members of the Columbia Parks & Recreation Advisory Board are appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the City Council to serve for a term of three (3) years (Municipal Code Sections 2.33.010 and 2.33.020).

NOW THEREFORE BE IT ORDAINED, by the Mayor and City Council of the City of Columbia, as follows:

- Section 1. The preceding recitations in the upper part of this Ordinance are realleged, restated and adopted as paragraph one ("1") of this Ordinance.
- Section 2. Columbia Plan Commission. The following persons, who reside within the corporate limits of the City, or within one and one-half (1½) miles beyond the corporate limits of the City, are appointed as members of the Columbia Plan Commission to serve for a term of three (3) years, to wit:

Name	Term
Matthew Klopmeyer*	05/01/2021-04/30/2022
Tony Murphy	05/01/2021-04/30/2024
Peter Ingold	05/01/2021-04/30/2024

^{*-} Fills Unexpired Term

Plan Commission members shall receive compensation of Sixty Dollars (\$60.00) per month; Members serving as Officers of the Plan Commission (Chair, Vice Chair, or Secretary) shall receive compensation of Seventy-Five Dollars (\$75.00) per month. No monthly compensation shall be paid to any Plan Commissioner who is absent from a regular or special meeting held that month.

Section 3. Columbia Library Board. The following persons, who reside within the corporate limits of the City, are appointed as Directors of the Columbia Library Board to serve for a term of three (3) years, to wit:

Name	Term
Chris Trowbridge	05/01/2020-04/30/2023
Dan Brutton	05/01/2020-04/30/2023
Cindy Waldemer	05/01/2020-04/30/2023
Kathleen Endraske	05/01/2021-04/30/2024
Shane Watson	05/01/2021-04/30/2024
Rodney Schreckenberg	05/01/2021-04/30/2024

Library Board members serve without compensation.

Section 4. Board of Fire and Police Commissioners. The following person, who resides within the corporate limits of the City, is appointed as a member of the Board of Fire and Police Commissioners for a three (3) year term, to wit:

Name	Term
	<u></u>

Dennis Baldridge 05/01/2021-04/30/2024
--

Board members shall receive compensation of Twenty-Six Dollars (\$26.00) per month for meetings of the board which they attend; however, the maximum amount board members shall receive per month is Twenty-Six Dollars (\$26.00).

Section 5. Board of Trustees of the Police Pension Fund.

The following person, who resides in the corporate limits of the City, is appointed to serve as a member of the Columbia Police Pension Fund Board of Trustees to serve a two (2) year term or until a successor is appointed and qualified, to wit:

Name	Term
Dave Mehrmann	05/01/2021-04/30/2023

Trustees of the Police Pension Fund serve without compensation.

Section 6. Columbia Heritage and Preservation Commission. The following persons are hereby appointed or continue to serve as Members of the Columbia Heritage and Preservation Commission for two (2) year terms, to wit:

Name	Term
Jamie Toon	05/01/2021-04/30/2023
Diane Hanna	05/01/2021-04/30/2023

Members of the Columbia Heritage and Preservation Commission serve without compensation.

Section 7. Columbia Parks & Recreation Advisory Board. The following persons are hereby appointed or continue to serve as Members of the Columbia Parks & Recreation Advisory Board for three (3) year terms, to wit:

Name	Term
Lauren Darr	05/01/2021-04/30/2024
Molly Williamson	05/01/2021-04/30/2024
Chris Grode*	05/01/2021-04/30/2022
Kara Lamack*	05/01/2021-04/30/2023
Glenn Melching	05/01/2021-04/30/2024

^{*-} Fills Unexpired Term

Members of the Columbia Parks & Recreation Advisory Board serve without compensation.

Section 8. Except as otherwise provided by law, vacancies in membership of any of the boards, commissions and committees listed herein shall be filled by appointment of

the Mayor, with the approval of the City Council, to serve for the unexpired term of the office vacated.

Section 9. All Ordinances, Resolutions, or Orders in conflict herewith, to the extent of such conflict, are hereby repealed.

Section 10. This ordinance shall be in full force and effect, and the appointments made herein shall be effective as of the appointment dates shown hereon, from and after its passage as provided by law.

PASSED by the City Council and **APPROVED** by the Mayor of the City of Columbia, Illinois and deposited and filed in the office of the City Clerk on the 21st day of June, 2021, the vote being taken by ayes and noes and entered upon the legislative record as follows:

AYES: Aldermen Niemietz, Roessler, Huch, Martens, Riddle, Garmer, and

Khoury.

NOES: None.

ABSTENTIONS: None.

ABSENT: <u>Alderman Holtkamp.</u>

APPROVED:

BOB HILL, Mayor

ATTEST:

ANDREW HITZEMANN, City Clerk

(SEAL)

Ordinance No. 3577 June 21, 2021