TOWN OF SYKESVILLE, MARYLAND

ORDINANCE NO. 2022-02

AN ORDINANCE TO ADOPT AND APPROVE THE BUDGET AND SET TAX RATES FOR THE TOWN OF SYKESVILLE, MARYLAND FOR FISCAL YEAR 2022-2023

WHEREAS, in accordance with Section C-42 of the Charter of the Town of Sykesville (the "Town") the Mayor and Town Council is required to enact an ordinance formally adopting the budget for each fiscal year; and

WHEREAS, this Ordinance is introduced for the purpose of adoption of the budget and to set the tax rates for the fiscal year beginning July 1, 2022 and ending June 30, 2023; and

WHEREAS, a public hearing was held on May 23rd, 2022, regarding the proposed budget after notice was duly provided and advertised in a local newspaper of general circulation in the Town of Sykesville.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT ORDAINED BY THE COUNCIL OF THE TOWN OF SYKESVILLE THAT:

Section 1. The budget attached hereto as "Exhibit A" be, and hereby is, adopted by the Town of Sykesville.

Section 2. The tax rate on all real property located within the limits of the Town of Sykesville is hereby set at \$0.33 per \$100.00 of assessed property value. The assessed property values shall be those used for real estate tax purposes as determined by the Carroll County office of the State Department of Assessments and Taxation.

Section 3. The tax rate applicable to personal property located within the limits of the Town of Sykesville is hereby set at \$0.825 per \$100.00 of assessed property value. The assessed property values shall be those used for personal property tax purposes as determined by the Carroll County office of the State Department of Assessments and Taxation.

<u>Section 4.</u> The budget and tax rates established by this Ordinance shall be binding during the 2022-2023 fiscal year.

THIS ORDINANCE IS ADOPTED BY THE MAYOR AND COUNCIL OF THE TOWN OF SYKESVILLE THIS 23rd DAY OF May , 2022	
ATTEST:	
/s/Kerry Chaney	/s/Stacy Link
Kerry Chaney, Town Clerk	Stacy Link, Mayor
	/s/Anna Carter
	Anna Carter, Council Member and Council
	President
	/s/Mark Dyer
	Mark Dyer, Council Member
	/-/A1 C1
	/s/Al Grasley
	Alan Grasley, Council Member
	/s/Elizabeth Guroff
	Elizabeth Guroff, Council Member
	Elizabeth Guron, Council Weinber
	/s/Leo Keenan
	Leo Keenan, Council Member
	/s/Jeremiah Schofield
	Jeremiah Schofield, Council Member