## BOARD OF ASSESSORS ESTABLISHED BY GENERAL TOWN MEETING (July 17, 1694)

At a General Town Meeting in Watertown. The inhabitants of said Town Voted that they would choose five assessors according to the direction of the Law. And accordingly by a Major vote were chosen. Two of the East End - two fo the Township, and one of the Farms - namely

Mr. William Shattuck Mr. Samuel Thatcher Capt. Benj'a Garfield Leiut. Nathl Bond Leiut. Josiah Jones

The five above named were sworn to a faithful discharge of their trust and duty before William Bond Esq. One of their Majesties Justices of the Peace.

(Volume 3, Page 141)

(March 28, 1695) Joseph Sherman Simon Stone Capt. Benj Garfield Lt. Nathl Bond Ens. John Livermore

(Volume 3, Page 168)

( July 13, 1696)

BOARD OF ASSESSORS CHANGED FROM FIVE TO THREE
At a General Town Meeting duly warned the 13th of July 1696.
VOTED: Voted by the Town that they will chose three Assessors for to
Assess the inhabitants their due proportion, to the present Tax set
by Law on the Town, and to chose one out of each precinct. And heads
to be valued at four shilings per head.

The assessors chosen are as followeth.

Manning Sawin
Benj. Gearfield, Jr.
Francis Fullam

(Volume 3, Page 185)

TERM OF ASSESSORS CHANGED TO ONE, TWO, AND THREE YEARS Frederic E. Critchett----Three Years William H. Wilson------Two Years Alberto F. Haynes-----One Year

(Volume 14, Page 553)