

ELECTED OFFICIALS:

Mark S. Sideris, Council President

Vincent J. Piccirilli, Jr., Vice President & District C Councilor

Caroline Bays Councilor At Large

Anthony Donato, Councilor At Large

John G. Gannon Councilor At Large

Anthony Palomba, Councilor At Large

Angeline B. Kounelis, District A Councilor

Lisa J. Feltner, District B Councilor

Kenneth M. Woodland, District D Councilor

Watertown Town Council

Administration Building 149 Main Street Watertown, MA 02472 Phone: 617-972-6470

RESOLUTION #55

2020 - R - 55

A RESOLUTION APPROVING THE FISCAL YEAR 2021 RETIREE HEALTH INSURANCE APPROPRIATION AND AUTHORIZATION OF EXPENDITURES FROM THE OPEB TRUST FUND

WHEREAS: The Town has established an Other Post-Employment Benefits (OPEB) Trust Fund in accordance with the provisions of G.L. c.32B, s. 20; and

WHEREAS: Monies contained with the OPEB Trust Fund are to be used solely for the purposes of funding non-pension post-employment benefits, i.e., the Town's costs for health insurance for retired employees and their dependents; and

WHEREAS: Pursuant to G.L. c.32B, s. 20(h), the estimated amount necessary to be appropriated from the OPEB Trust Fund to fund the Fiscal Year 2021 annual budget for retiree health insurance to be \$3,995,000; and

WHEREAS: The Treasurer, as Trustee of the OPEB Trust Fund, has certified that this amount will be available for appropriation from the OPEB Trust Fund; and

WHEREAS: G.L. c.32B, s. 20 authorizes expenditures from the OPEB Trust Fund by two-thirds vote of the Town Council;

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED: By the Town Council of the City Known as the Town of Watertown hereby approves the appropriation of \$3,995,000 from the OPEB Trust Fund to fund the estimated Fiscal 2021 cost for retiree health insurance (said amount having been already included in the Town's annual operating budget), by two-thirds vote.

Ouncil Member

I hereby certify that at a Meeting of the Town Council for which a quorum was present, the above Resolution was adopted by a vote of _9_for, _0_ against, _0_ present on June 29, 2020.

Marilyn W. Pronovost, Council Clerk

Mark S. Sideris, Council President