Township of Kingwood, NJ
Hunterdon County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
[HISTORY: Adopted by the Township Committee of the Township of Kingwood 5-7-2020 by Ord. No. 20-10-2020.[1] Amendments noted where applicable.]
GENERAL REFERENCES
Fire Department — See Ch. 19.
Outdoor burning — See Ch. 65.
Uniform construction codes — See Ch. 71.
Fire control — See Ch. 77.
Fire insurance claims — See Ch. 78.
[1]
Editor's Note: This ordinance also superseded former Ch. 76, Fire Prevention, adopted 9-18-1981 by Ord. No. 4-10-81.
The Kingwood Township Fire Company is recognized and designated as the primary fire protection agency within the boundaries of the Township of Kingwood, Hunterdon County, New Jersey.
The New Jersey Uniform Fire Code shall be locally enforced in the Township of Kingwood.
A. 
The local enforcing agency shall be the Raritan Township Bureau of Fire Prevention.
B. 
The local enforcing agency established herein shall be a part of the Bureau of Fire Prevention and shall be under the direct supervision and control of the Fire Marshal, who shall be appointed by Raritan Township.
A. 
Duties. The local enforcement agency shall enforce the New Jersey Uniform Fire Code (N.J.S.A. 52:27D-192 et seq.) in all buildings, structures and premises within the established boundaries of the Township of Kingwood, other than owner-occupied one- and two-family dwellings, and shall faithfully comply with the requirements of the New Jersey Uniform Fire Code.
B. 
Required life-hazard use inspections; fees. The local enforcing agency shall carry out the cyclical inspections of life-hazard uses as required by the New Jersey Uniform Fire Code on behalf of the Commissioner of the Department of Community Affairs. The local enforcing agency shall also carry out inspections of non-life-hazard uses pursuant to § 76-7 of the Code of the Township of Kingwood. When in the opinion of the Fire Marshal there exist conditions likely to cause fire, contribute to the spread of fire, interfere with firefighting operations, endanger life or violate the provisions or intent of this chapter, additional inspections may be made as often as necessary for the purpose of ascertaining these conditions and causing them to be corrected.
C. 
Fees.
(1) 
The Bureau of Fire Prevention shall also collect fees for permits, certificates of fire code compliance and certificates of smoke detector and carbon monoxide alarm compliance (CSDCMAC) as set forth in the New Jersey Uniform Fire Code and Subsection B as follows:
Type of Permit
Fee
Type 1
$55
Type 2
$215
Type 3
$430
Type 4
$645
Type 5
(Reserved)
(2) 
The application fee for a certificate of smoke detector and carbon monoxide alarm compliance shall be as follows:
(a) 
Requests for a CSDCMAC received more than 10 business day prior to the change of occupancy: $50.
(b) 
Requests for a CSDCMAC received four to 10 business days prior to the change of occupancy: $100.
(c) 
Requests for a CSDCMAC received fewer than four business days prior to the change of occupancy: $160.
(3) 
A $50 reinspection fee will be charged for all failed inspections.
(4) 
Certificate of code compliance: $65.
In the event that it is necessary for the appointment of inspectors to carry out the provisions requiring inspection activity in the Township, such inspectors shall be appointed by the Raritan Township Committee upon the recommendation of the Fire Marshal and Fire Chief of the Raritan Township Fire Company. The inspector(s) shall be under the supervision and control of the Fire Marshal. The Kingwood Township Attorney shall serve as legal counsel for the enforcement of this chapter.
Any person aggrieved by any order of the local enforcement agency shall have the right to appeal to the Construction Board of Appeals of the County of Hunterdon.
A. 
Registration. Non-life-hazard uses shall be registered with the local enforcing agency. Specifically, all non-life-hazard businesses and multiple-dwelling residential buildings in the Township of Kingwood shall register with the local enforcing agency on a form provided by the agency. New businesses and multiple-dwelling residential buildings must be registered within 30 days of occupancy. Failure to register will subject the owner of the business or multiple-dwelling residential building to a penalty of $250 issued by the Fire Marshal.
B. 
Inspections. Non-life-hazard uses shall be inspected through a cyclical program established by the local enforcing agency, which shall be done on a biannual basis.
C. 
Registration fees. The operator of a non-life-hazard business or multiple-dwelling residential building shall pay to the Raritan Township Bureau of Fire Prevention a registration fee. This fee shall be assessed upon inspection. The fee shall be as follows (square footage is based upon gross floor area of all floors, including basements):
(1) 
As to business uses:
(a) 
Occupancy under 2,000 square feet: $65.
(b) 
Occupancy 2,001 to 3,999 square feet: $75.
(c) 
Occupancy 4,000 to 5,999 square feet: $125.
(d) 
Occupancy 6,000 to 7,999 square feet: $175.
(e) 
Occupancy 8,000 to 9,999 square feet: $225.
(f) 
Occupancy 10,000 to 11,999 square feet: $275.
(g) 
Occupancy 12,000 to 13,999 square feet: $325.
(h) 
Occupancy over 14,000 square feet: $375.
(i) 
Retail or commercial common area: $175.
(2) 
As to multiple-family residential dwellings:
(a) 
Multiple-family dwelling:
[1] 
One to five units: $100.
[2] 
Six to 25 units: $125.
[3] 
Over 25 units: $225.
D. 
Failure to pay registration fees. It shall be unlawful to refuse to pay the registration fee after being given notice to do so as per the fee schedule established by this section. Any penalties assessed are in addition to others previously assessed. Full payment shall be made within 30 days of issuance of the notice by Raritan Township for payment of the registration fee. If payment is not received in 30 days, the matter will be referred to the Raritan Township Attorney for summary collection pursuant to the Penalty Enforcement Law (N.J.S.A. 2A:58-10 et seq.). A minimum $25 late penalty will be assessed.