Township of Swatara, PA
Dauphin County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
[HISTORY: Adopted by the Board of Commissioners of the Township of Swatara 4-14-1976 by Ord. No. 1976-26 (Ch. 1, Part 5, of the 1990 Code). Amendments noted where applicable.]
Police pension plan — See Ch. 52, Art. II.
[Amended 4-11-1990 by Ord. No. 1990-1]
A Police Department is hereby established in and for the Township of Swatara. The Chief of Police shall be the chief executive of the Police Department and shall be appointed and dismissed by and at the pleasure of the Board of Commissioners and shall not be subject to civil service rules and regulations pertaining to appointment or dismissal. He shall, under the direction of the Board of Commissioners, be in charge of the police force and have supervision over its members in the exercise of their powers, duties and authority, provided the Police Department previously created in and for the said Township shall constitute the Police Department hereby created, and nothing herein shall affect the tenure of any of the members thereof.
Subordinate to the Chief of Police in the Police Department, the following classifications are hereby established: Lieutenant, Sergeant, Corporal, and patrolperson. The number of persons to serve in each of such subordinate classifications and the compensation of each shall be as determined from time to time by the Board of Commissioners, subject to applicable civil service provisions in the law.