Township of Springfield, PA
Montgomery County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
[HISTORY: Adopted by the Board of Commissioners of the Township of Springfield 5-14-1980 by Ord. No. 697. Amendments noted where applicable.]
Fire Department — See Ch. 34.
There is hereby established the Springfield Township Emergency Services Board (hereinafter referred to as STEMS), whose membership shall consist of representation from volunteer emergency service agencies, Municipal Public Safety Departments and the Board of Commissioners.
The purpose of STEMS is to develop procedures and techniques to coordinate the delivery of emergency services in the township and to serve in an advisory capacity to the Board of Commissioners for the purpose of recommending policy-making decisions to improve, wherever possible, emergency services for the protection to persons and property in Springfield Township. STEMS shall have the authority to adopt rules, regulations and plans of action governing emergency services. However, such rules, regulations and plans of action shall not become effective until submitted to and approved by the Board of Commissioners.
STEMS shall hold meetings on a regular basis at the Springfield Township Building at a time to be determined by the Emergency Services Board or its Chairman and to render to the Board of Commissioners current reports and/or policy-making recommendations through its Secretary.
Membership in STEMS shall consist of representation from each of the following volunteer emergency service agencies or officials within the Township Government or any other agency or official township office as may from time to time be authorized by resolution of the Board of Commissioners:
Ambulance services: Springfield Ambulance Association.
Fire services:
Flourtown Fire Company.
Oreland Volunteer Fire Company.
Wyndmoor Hose Company.
Fire Marshal.
Police services: Chief of Police.
Board of Commissioners: Chairman of the Public Safety Commission.
All members of STEMS shall serve for an indefinite term of office at the pleasure of the agency that they represent; or, in the case of elected or appointed township officials, until such time as their successors shall qualify.