Borough of Ramsey, NJ
Bergen County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
GENERAL REFERENCES
Alcoholic beverages in public places — See § 3-1.
Consumption or possession of alcoholic beverages by underage persons — See § 3-15.
[1972 Code, Chapter 114]
This chapter is enacted to regulate the sale and transportation of alcoholic beverages in the Borough of Ramsey in accordance with the provisions of an act of the Legislature of the State of New Jersey entitled "An Act Concerning Alcoholic Beverages," comprising Chapter 436 of the Laws of 1933, its supplements and amendments, and also comprising N.J.S.A. 33:1-1 et seq., and in accordance with the rules and regulations of the State Director of Alcoholic Beverage Control.
[1972 Code, Chapter 114]
For the purpose of this chapter, words and phrases herein shall have the same meanings as in N.J.S.A. 33:1-1 et seq., and the rules and regulations of the Director of the Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control.
[1972 Code § 114.001]
All applications for licenses, all licenses issued and all proceedings under this chapter shall be in accordance with the act, rules and regulations referred to in Section 6-1, and all other applicable laws of the State of New Jersey or the United States.
[1972 Code § 114.001]
All licenses required by this chapter shall be issued by the Borough Council, which shall also administer the provisions of this chapter.
[Ord. No. 1268 § 5]
No person shall sell or distribute alcoholic beverages within the Borough without obtaining a license in accordance with the act referred to in Section 6-1 and the provisions of this chapter.
[Ord. No. 436; Ord. No. 497; Ord. No. 591; Ord. No. 782 § 2; Ord. No. 844 § 1; Ord. No. 878 § 1; Ord. No. 878-A § 1; Ord. No. 878-B § 1; Ord. No. 878-C § 1; Ord. No. 878-F § 1; amended 7-12-2006 by Ord. No. 24-2006[1]]
a. 
The annual fee for licenses for the sale or distribution of alcoholic beverages in the Borough shall be as follows:
[Amended 2-8-2012 by Ord. No. 02-2012; 4-8-2015 by Ord. No. 04-2015]
Class of License
Annual License
Number of Licenses
Plenary retail consumption license
$2,500
13
Plenary retail distribution license
$2,500
2
Club license
$150
Not limited
b. 
The provisions of this subsection with respect to the limitation on the number of licenses shall not apply to the renewal or transfer of licenses presently issued.
[1]
Editor's Note: This ordinance also provided that the license fees shall be effective beginning with 2007-2008 license renewals.
[Ord. No. 463; Ord. No. 497; 1972 Code § 114.001]
In addition to the above, one plenary retail consumption license will be permitted for each hotel or motel premises containing at least 100 sleeping rooms.
[Ord. No. 497; 1972 Code § 114.020]
Club licenses may be issued only to such corporations, associations and organizations as are operated for benevolent, charitable, fraternal, social, religious, recreational, athletic, or similar purposes, and not for private gain, and which comply with all conditions which may be imposed by the Director of Alcoholic Beverage Control by rules and regulations. Such licenses shall be entitled to sell any alcoholic beverages but only for immediate consumption on the licensed premises and only to bona fide club members and their guests. Sales of alcoholic beverages shall be restricted to the bar room area specified in the license application.
[1972 Code § 114.020; Ord. No. 800 § 2]
No alcoholic beverages shall be sold, delivered or served in any licensed premises on any day between the hours of 2:00 a.m. and 6:00 a.m. except Sundays and New Year's Day each year as hereinafter provided.
[1972 Code § 114.020; Ord. No. 800 § 1; amended 7-26-2017 by Ord. No. 06-2017]
Provisions of Subsection 6-4.1 shall not apply on Sundays. On Sundays, no alcoholic beverages may be sold, served or delivered in the licensed premises between the hours of 2:00 a.m. and 11:00 a.m. except as set forth in Subsection 6-4.4 below.
[Ord. No. 800 § 2; Ord. No. 894 § 1]
Provisions of Subsection 6-4.1 shall not apply on January 1. On that day alcoholic beverages may not be sold or delivered in the licensed premises between the hours of 5:00 a.m. and 6:00 a.m. unless January 1 is a Sunday, in which case alcoholic beverages may not be sold, served, delivered to or consumed in the licensed premises between the hours of 5:00 a.m. and 11:00 a.m.
[Ord. No. 894 § 1; Ord. No. 1075 § 1; Ord. No. 1215; amended 7-26-2017 by Ord. No. 06-2017]
No licensee shall sell or deliver, or allow, permit, or suffer the sale or delivery of any alcoholic beverage at retail in its original container for consumption off the licensed premises or allow, permit or suffer the removal of any alcoholic beverage in its original container from retail licensed premises on Sunday before 9:00 a.m. or after 7:00 p.m. and on any other day of the week before 9:00 a.m. or after 10:00 p.m. Whenever, however, December 24 or December 31 falls on a Sunday, a licensee shall be permitted to sell or deliver any alcoholic beverage at retail in its original container for consumption off the licensed premises and shall be permitted to allow the removal of any alcoholic beverage in its original container from the retail licensed premises between the hours of 9:00 a.m. and 10:00 p.m.
[Ord. No. 894 § 2; Ord. No. 1197]
a. 
No licensee shall allow consumption of any alcoholic beverage on the licensed premises between the hours of 2:15 a.m. and 6:00 a.m. Monday through Saturday, and between the hours of 2:15 a.m. and 11:00 a.m. on Sunday except that licensees may allow the consumption of any alcoholic beverages until 5:15 a.m. on January 1 of each year.
b. 
A licensed premises which is a hotel or a diner may stay open after the times hereinbefore set forth in this paragraph to engage in its business activities provided the licensee does not sell, serve, deliver or allow, permit or suffer the sale, service, delivery or consumption of any alcoholic beverages on the licensed premises after the time hereinbefore set forth in this paragraph.
[Ord. No. 1268 § 5]
The times above set forth shall be Eastern Standard Time except when Daylight Saving Time is in effect, when the times shall be Daylight Saving Time.
[Ord. No. 1268 § 5]
No licensee or employee of a licensee shall sell, serve or deliver, directly or indirectly, any alcoholic beverages to any intoxicated person or minor, or permit the consumption of alcoholic beverages on any licensed premises by any of the above named classes of persons, or permit any such persons to congregate in or about the licensed premises.
[1961 Code § 28.04; Ord. No. 508; Ord. No. 800 § 1]
No plenary retail distribution license shall be issued to permit the sale of alcoholic beverages in or upon any premises in which any other mercantile business is carried on, except that a plenary retail distribution licensee shall be permitted to sell nonalcoholic beverages as accessory beverages to alcoholic beverages, and also cocktail cherries, olives and onions, potato chips, pretzels, nuts and similar snack items, ice cubes, glasses, decanters, corkscrews, bottle openers and similar bar accessories, tobacco products and New Jersey State lottery tickets.
[1961 Code § 28.06; 1972 Code § 114.025]
On premises where both sexes are served alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises, separate toilets and washrooms shall be provided for each sex and such toilets and washrooms shall at all times be maintained in a sanitary condition.
[1961 Code § 28.07; 1972 Code § 114.030]
All licensed premises shall at all times be open for inspection by the Mayor and by the Council, the Borough Administrator, the Borough Attorney, and by any member of the Police or Health Departments of the Borough.
[Ord. No. 509; 1972 Code § 114.040]
No plenary retail consumption license or plenary retail distribution license shall be issued, nor shall any place-to-place transfer of an existing license be granted for the service or sale of alcoholic beverages upon the premises which are within 500 feet of any existing premises licensed to sell or serve alcoholic beverages under another plenary retail consumption license or plenary retail distribution license. The distance shall be measured from the nearest entrance of the nearest licensed premises to the nearest entrance of the premises sought to be licensed along the normal way that a pedestrian would probably walk as provided in N.J.S.A. 33:1-76.
[Ord. No. 509; 1972 Code § 114.040; Ord. No. 1191]
Subsection 6-5.1 shall not apply to the following cases:
a. 
The renewal or person-to-person transfer of any plenary retail consumption license or plenary retail distribution license which is in existence at the time of the adoption of this chapter.
b. 
The provisions of Subsection 6-5.1 shall not apply to premises which have frontage on State Highway Route 17.
[1961 Code § 28.08; 1972 Code § 114.035]
Any license issued under this chapter may be suspended or revoked by the Mayor and Borough Council for the violation of any of the provisions of this chapter or the violation of any provisions of N.J.S.A. 33:1-1 to 33:1-96, and the rules and regulations of the State Director of Alcoholic Beverage Control.
Proceedings for the suspension or revocation of a license shall be in accordance with the provisions of the statutes cited by service of a five day notice of charges preferred against the licensee. The licensee shall be afforded a reasonable opportunity for a hearing.
Suspension or revocation shall carry the penalties and prohibitions provided for in the statutes cited and shall be in addition to any of the penalties imposed for the violation of this chapter.
[Ord. No. 1268 § 5]
No licensee shall sell, serve, deliver or allow, permit or suffer the service or delivery of any alcoholic beverage, directly or indirectly, to any person under the legal age.
[Ord. No. 1268 § 5]
It shall be unlawful for a person under the legal age to enter any premises licensed for the retail sale of alcoholic beverages for the purpose of purchasing, or having served or delivered to him or her, any alcoholic beverage.
[Ord. No. 1268 § 5]
It shall be unlawful for a person under the legal age to consume any alcoholic beverage on premises licensed for the retail sale of alcoholic beverages, or to purchase, attempt to purchase or have another purchase for him or her any alcoholic beverage.
[Ord. No. 1268 § 5]
It shall be unlawful for a person to misrepresent or misstate his or her age or the age of any other person for the purpose of inducing any retail license to sell, serve or deliver any alcoholic beverage to a person under the legal age.
Any person who shall violate any of the provisions of this section shall be deemed and adjudged to be a disorderly person, and upon conviction thereof and in accordance with N.J.S.A. 33:1-81, shall be punished by a fine of not less than $500. In addition, the Court shall suspend the person's license to operate a motor vehicle for six months or prohibit the person from obtaining a license to operate a motor vehicle in this state for six months beginning on the date he becomes eligible to obtain a license or on the date of conviction, whichever is later. In addition to the general penalty prescribed for an offense, the court may require any person under the legal age to purchase alcoholic beverages who violates this act to participate in an alcohol education or treatment program authorized by the Department of Health for a period not to exceed the maximum period of confinement prescribed by law for the offense for which the individual has been convicted. (N.J.S.A. 33:1-8)