Town of Austerlitz, NY
Columbia County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
[HISTORY: Adopted by the Town Board of the Town of Austerlitz as indicated in article histories. Amendments noted where applicable.]
[Adopted 12-10-1987 by L.L. No. 4-1987]
In the late 1960s, the Town Board of the Town of Austerlitz created a seven-member Town Planning Board pursuant to the provisions of § 271 of the Town Law of the State of New York. Members of the Planning Board were thereafter appointed by the Town Board for staggered terms as set forth in § 271 of the Town Law. Thereafter, the successors of the original Planning Board members were appointed and vacancies filled from time to time. However, over the period of years from the date of original creation, the termination dates of the staggered terms of office have become confused, and the records of the Town no longer show, with any degree of accuracy, the precise termination dates of any incumbent members of the Planning Board. To remedy this situation, the Town Board, by resolution dated June 13, 1985, reappointed all seven incumbent members of the Town Planning Board to a three-year term ending June 13, 1988. However, the Town Board now feels that it is appropriate to recreate proper staggered seven-year terms for each of the seven Planning Board offices.
The terms of office of the following named incumbents of the Town of Austerlitz Planning Board are hereby extended and staggered to the dates indicated:
Incumbent, Norma Edsall: term extended to 12-31-1988.
Incumbent, Rose Vieni: term extended to 12-31-1989.
Incumbent, Donald Kern: term extended to 12-31-1990.
Incumbent, Terri Okolowich: term extended to 12-31-1991.
Incumbent, Ronald R. Ouwerkerk: term extended to 12-31-1992.
Incumbent, Elinor K. Ouwerkerk: term extended to 12-31-1993.
Incumbent, Ronald W. Scofield: term extended to 12-31-1994.
Each successor to the above-named incumbents shall be appointed for a term of seven years from and after the expiration of the term of his or her predecessor in office.
This article expressly amends or supersedes any inconsistent provisions of § 271 of the Town Law of the State of New York and also repeals any inconsistent provisions of any resolution or local law heretofore adopted by the Town Board of the Town of Austerlitz.