City of Saratoga Springs, NY
Saratoga County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
The City shall be divided into election districts with boundaries the Council may prescribe, per the New York State Election Law.
Provisions of the Election Law of the State of New York shall apply to all municipal elections and special elections of the City of Saratoga Springs and shall guide in all matters not provided in the Charter.
A primary election shall be held in accordance with Election Law of the State of New York in each odd-numbered year during the hours 12:00 noon until 9:00 p.m.
The general municipal election shall be held on Tuesday succeeding the first Monday in each odd-numbered year, in accordance with Election Law of the State of New York.
A general City election shall be held every two years in odd- numbered years in November at the time and places for holding the general election. There shall be elected at each general City election successors to all elected City officers whose terms will expire before the date of the next general City election.
There shall be an election for City Judge every 10 years.
There shall be a list of candidates for Supervisor on the ballot, and the two candidates receiving the highest number of votes and the second highest number of votes shall serve as County Supervisors.
Publication of election timetable. The Commissioner of Accounts shall cause to be published a timetable indicating times when each step shall be taken to designate, nominate, and submit petitions for partisan and independent candidates under the New York State Election Law. Such timetable shall be published first in the City's official newspaper or newspapers no later than two weeks after the issuance of the official political calendar of the New York State Board of Elections, and a copy shall be placed on file at the City Clerk's office. There shall be a second publication of the timetable no later than the first day for circulation of partisan petitions.