City of Dardenne Prairie, MO
St. Charles County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
[Ord. No. 1396 §1, 3-18-2009]
The following words, when used in this Chapter, shall have the meanings set out herein:
The owner or owners of the property upon which the open burning is to occur.
Either the Wentzville Fire Protection District, Cottleville Fire Protection District, the O'Fallon Fire Protection District, or any other such fire protection district of the State of Missouri established pursuant to Chapter 321, RSMo., now existing or hereinafter formed which may have jurisdiction over property located within the City limits.
The asbestiform varieties of chrysotile, crocidolite, amosite, anthophyllite, tremolite and actinolite.
Any material or product which contains more than one percent (1%) asbestos, by weight.
The burning of any materials where air contaminants resulting from combustion are emitted directly into the ambient air without passing through a stack or chimney from an enclosed chamber. For purposes of this definition, a chamber shall be regarded as enclosed when, during the time combustion takes place, only hose apertures, ducts, stacks, flues or chimneys as are necessary to provide combustion air and to permit the escape of exhaust gases are open. Notwithstanding the foregoing, the definition of open burning shall not include non-commercial preparation of food, such as by barbecuing.
The solid, liquid or gaseous material resulting from construction or the prosecution of any business, trade or industry or any demolition operation including, but not limited to, plastics, cardboard cartons, grease, oil, chemicals or cinders.
Lumber and other wooden materials that have not been chemically treated for resistance to moisture, fire, fungi, insects and other pests, or has not otherwise been treated or manufactured with chemicals, or that does not contain adhesives or resins. Untreated wood does not include plywood, particleboard and wood with other than insignificant quantities of paint, coating or finish.
[Ord. No. 1396 §1, 3-18-2009]
Except as otherwise provided in this Chapter, open burning is prohibited within the City. The open burning of tires, petroleum-based products, asbestos containing materials, and trade waste is prohibited.
[Ord. No. 1396 §1, 3-18-2009]
Notwithstanding any other provision of this Chapter to the contrary, open burning permitted within incorporated areas within St. Charles County pursuant to 10 CSR 10-6, including, but not necessarily limited to, the following, shall be permitted only upon providing notice to the City pursuant to Section 203.040:
Bonfires and ceremonial fires. These fires shall be comprised of vegetative woody materials or untreated wood products only and shall not be more than five (5) feet by five (5) feet by five (5) feet in dimension and shall not burn longer than three (3) hours; and
Fire training exercises as described in 10 CSR 10-6.020(3).A.7.
[Ord. No. 1396 §1, 3-18-2009]
Any person intending to engage open burning pursuant to Section 203.030 shall submit a notice to the City Code Enforcement Officer no later than three (3) days prior to the date upon which the open burning is to occur. The notice shall include the following information:
The name, address and telephone number of the applicant;
A statement as to the need for providing notice;
A description of the equipment, operating practices and the type of material to be burned;
Evidence that the proposed burning activity has been approved by the appropriate fire protection district;
The length of time (days and months) required to complete the burning operation; and
Evidence that the proposed burning activity has been approved by the Missouri Department of Natural Resources, if necessary.
Open burning permitted pursuant to this Subsection shall be permitted only during the days and months specified in the permit approved by the appropriate fire protection district and/or the Missouri Department of Natural Resources.