Town of Lockport, NY
Niagara County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
[HISTORY: Adopted by the Town Board of the Town of Lockport 12-8-1976 by L.L. No. 1-1976. Amendments noted where applicable.]
Section 64, Subdivision 7 of the Town Law is amended as follows:
Franchises. Except as otherwise provided by law, may grant rights, franchises, permissions or consents for the use of the streets, highways, and public places or any part thereof or the space above or under them or any of them for any specific purpose authorized by law upon such terms and conditions as it may deem proper and as may be permitted by law. No such franchise, permission or consent shall be granted without a public hearing, notice of which shall be given by the publication of a notice thereof in the official paper at least 10 days before the meeting. The Town Board of the Town of Lockport, Niagara County, New York, delegates its authority and power to award cable television franchises under applicable provisions of the Executive Law and regulations of the New York State Commission on Cable Television to a body hereby created and denominated the "Lockport Community Cable Commission."
The Lockport Community Cable Commission hereby created jointly by the local governing bodies of the City and Town of Lockport shall hereafter exercise all the authority and powers of such governing bodies with respect to the awarding and regulation of a cable television franchise for such municipalities. Such authority and power shall include and not necessarily be limited to all the substantive and procedural requirements heretofore promulgated by the New York State Commission on Cable Television.
Such Lockport Community Cable Commission shall consist of seven members, three of whom shall be appointed for staggered terms of one, two and three years by the Common Council of the City of Lockport, three of whom shall be appointed for like terms by the Town Board of the Town of Lockport, and a seventh who shall be designated as Chairman and shall be selected by the chief executive officers of each municipality. Such Chairmanship shall be for a term of three years. Two of said members shall consist of a member from the Town Board and a member of the Common Council who shall serve during their respective terms in office. In the event that the chief executive officers cannot decide within 30 days of the commencement or expiration of the term of Chairman, the remaining six members shall select such Chairman, subject to the confirmation and consent of each governing body.