Township of Maple Shade, NJ
Burlington County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
[[1]HISTORY: Adopted by the Township Council of the Township of Maple Shade 4-18-1990 by Ord. No. 1990-4 (Ch. 55 of the 1975 Code). Amendments noted where applicable.]
[1]
Editor's Note: The title of this chapter was changed from "Fees" to "Fees and Escrow" 5-9-2019 by Ord. No. 2019-04.
[Amended 10-2-1991 by Ord. No. 1991-21; 6-6-1995 by Ord. No. 1995-7]
The following fees payable January 1 of each year, or every five years, beginning on January 1, 1985, and prorated on a quarterly basis in the event of installation in the course of a year are established to defray additional expenses incurred as a result of private alarm systems:
A. 
(Reserved)[2]
[2]
Editor's Note: Former Subsection A, regarding alarm system installer permits, was repealed 4-15-2009 by Ord. No. 2009-08.
B. 
Alarm system permit: $20 per five-year period.
C. 
Dial alarm addition permit fee: $15 per year.
D. 
Licensee permit fee: $100 per year.
E. 
Senior citizen. Any individual who qualifies for a senior citizen deduction, pursuant to Title 54 of the Revised Statutes of the State of New Jersey, shall be exempt from the payment of the aforementioned fees for any permit.
[1]
Editor's Note: See Ch. 54, Alarm Systems.
The license fee to be paid with respect to the licenses required in Chapter 57 of the Code of the Township of Maple Shade are as follows:
A. 
Plenary retail distribution license: $2,500 per annum.
[Amended 10-1-2003 by Ord. No. 2003-12]
B. 
Plenary retail consumption license: $2,500 per annum.
[Amended 9-20-2000 by Ord. No. 2000-11; 10-1-2003 by Ord. No. 2003-12]
C. 
Club license: $188 per annum.
[Amended 10-1-2003 by Ord. No. 2003-12]
D. 
Person-to-person and place-to-place transfer of a liquor license shall be 10% of the annual fee.
[Amended 12-5-2007 by Ord. No. 2007-31]
The license fee for amusement machines shall be $100 for the first five machines per location and $100 for each additional five machines or portion thereof.[2]
[1]
Editor's Note: See Ch. 60, Amusement Devices.
[2]
Editor's Note: Former § 88-3.1, Certificate of approval, added 11-8-2012 by Ord. No. 2012-15, which immediately followed this section, was repealed 10-23-2014 by Ord. No. 2014-18.
[Amended 7-3-1991 by Ord. No. 1991-10; 4-4-1995 by Ord. No. 1995-5; 8-1-2007 by Ord. No. 2007-25]
A. 
New Jersey State permit surcharge fees.
[Amended 5-6-2009 by Ord. No. 2009-11]
(1) 
Amount. This fee shall be in the amount of $0.00334 per cubic foot volume of new buildings and additions. Volume shall be computed in accordance with N.J.A.C. 5:23-2.28.
(2) 
The fee for all other construction shall be $1.70 per $1,000 of value of construction. The minimum permit surcharge fee shall be $1.
(3) 
The above fee is subject to periodic change and exemptions established by the Department of Community Affairs and will be calculated in accordance with N.J.A.C. 5:23-4.19 hereafter and as applicable with the regulations.
B. 
General.
(1) 
The fee to be charged for a construction permit will be the sum of the basic construction fee plus all applicable special fees. This fee shall be paid before a permit is issued and proposed work commences.
(2) 
The fee to be charged for a certificate of occupancy shall be paid before a certificate is issued. This fee shall be in addition to the construction permit.
(3) 
Plan review fee. The fee for plan review shall be 25% of the amount to be charged for a construction permit. There shall be an additional fee of $45 per hour for review of an amendment, meetings or change to a plan that has already been released per subcode having assigned plan review responsibility to perform such a review in conjunction with the regulations and actual submittal. This fee may be waived at the discretion of the Construction Official in the event the work and review is of a minor nature.
(4) 
The basic construction permit fee shall be the sum of the parts computed on the basis of the volume or cost of construction, the number of plumbing fixtures and pieces of equipment, the number of electrical fixtures and rating of electrical devices, the number of sprinklers, standpipes and detectors (smoke and heat) at the unit rates and/or the applicable flat fees as provided herein plus any special fees. The minimum fee for a basic construction permit shall be $75 for a single subcode permit. The minimum fee for multiple subcodes per construction permit shall be $65 per subcode.
[Amended 5-6-2009 by Ord. No. 2009-11; 7-28-2011 by Ord. No. 2011-09]
(5) 
Flat fees. When the term "flat fee" is used, the fee for that component shall be as noted in that section regardless of the number of subcodes involved or the minimum permit fees established. Any additional work performed in conjunction with a component that has a flat fee designation shall also be charged the additional fee as noted herein for that particular item in addition to the initial flat fee. Permits issued that include flat fees are subject to the state permit surcharges as noted above.
C. 
Building volume or cost. The fees for new construction or alteration are as follows:
(1) 
Fees for new construction shall be based upon the volume of the structure. Volume shall be computed in accordance with N.J.A.C. 5:23-2.28. The new construction fee shall be in the amount of $0.040 per cubic foot of volume for buildings and structures of all use groups and types of construction as classified and defined in Chapters 3 and 4 of the building subcode; except that the fee shall be $0.030 per cubic foot for structures on farms, including commercial farm building under N.J.A.C. 5:23-3.2 (d), with the maximum fee for such structures on farms not to exceed $1,845.
[Amended 7-28-2011 by Ord. No. 2011-09]
(2) 
Fees for renovations, alterations and repairs shall be based upon the estimated cost of the work. The fee shall be $30 per $1,000 of estimated cost of $0 to and including $50,000. From $50,001 to and including $100,000, the additional fee shall be in the amount of $27 per $1,000. The additional fee shall be in the amount of $22 per $1,000 of estimated cost above $100,000. For the purpose of determining estimated cost, the applicant shall submit to the agency such cost data as may be available and produced by the architect or engineer of record, or by a recognized estimating firm, or by the contractor. A bona fide contractor's bid, or contract if available, shall be submitted upon request.
[Amended 7-28-2011 by Ord. No. 2011-09]
(3) 
Fee for additions shall be computed on the same basis as for new construction for the added portion.
(4) 
Fees for combination of renovations and additions shall be computed as the sum of the fees computed separately in accordance with Subsection C(2) and (3) above.
(5) 
A flat fee for replacement-type roof coverings shall be $75 for R-3, R-4 and R-5-type use groups. The fee for all use groups other than R-3, R-4 and R-5 shall be $36 per $1,000 of the estimated cost. In the event that the work is of a minor nature and not a total replacement, the fee for R-3, R-4 and R-5-type use groups may be calculated at the rate of $36 per $1,000, with a minimum fee of $75.
[Amended 7-28-2011 by Ord. No. 2011-09]
(6) 
A flat fee for replacement-type vinyl siding and other exterior wall coverings shall be $130 for R-3, R-4 and R-5-type use groups. The fee for all use groups other than R-3, R-4 and R-5 shall be $36 per $1,000 of the estimated cost. In the event that the work is of a minor nature and not a total replacement, the fee for R3, R-4 and R-5-type use groups may be calculated at the rate of $36 per $1,000, with a minimum fee of $65.
[Amended 7-28-2011 by Ord. No. 2011-09]
(7) 
A flat fee charged for a private aboveground swimming pool, as defined in the building subcode, in use groups R-3, R-4 and R-5 shall be $90. The flat fee charged for a private in-ground swimming pool, as defined in the building subcode, in use groups R-3, R-4 and R-5 shall be $225. The construction fee for public swimming pools, as defined in the building subcode, in all other use groups shall be computed and based upon the cubic volume of the structure, with a minimum permit fee of $275 per unit.
[Amended 7-28-2011 by Ord. No. 2011-09]
(8) 
The flat fee for a hot tub barrier (hot tub cover) is $25.
[Amended 7-28-2011 by Ord. No. 2011-09]
(9) 
The flat fee for replacement barriers surrounding and enclosing public or private swimming pools shall be $65.
[Amended 7-28-2011 by Ord. No. 2011-09]
(10) 
The fee for storage sheds and similar structures exceeding 200 square feet in area shall be calculated in accordance with Subsection C(1) above. The minimum fee for sheds and similar structures that are 200 feet or less in floor area and less than 10 feet in height shall be a flat fee of $65 per unit.
[Amended 7-28-2011 by Ord. No. 2011-09]
(11) 
The fee for temporary structures shall be $75 per structure.
(12) 
Tents. The fee for regulated tents in excess of 16,800 square feet or more than 140 feet in any dimension shall be $125.
[Amended 7-28-2011 by Ord. No. 2011-09]
(13) 
The fees for retaining walls shall be as follows:
[Amended 7-28-2011 by Ord. No. 2011-09]
(a) 
The fee for a new or replacement retaining wall with a surface area greater than 550 square feet that is associated with a Class 3 residential structure shall be $150 and $100 for regulated retaining walls not exceeding 550 square feet.
(b) 
The fee for retaining walls of any size other than a Class 3 residential structure shall be based upon the value in the amount of $36 per $1,000.
D. 
Fees for plumbing fixtures and equipment:
(1) 
The fee shall be in the amount of $15 per fixture, piece of equipment or appliance connected to the plumbing system, and for each appliance connected to the gas piping, propane or oil piping system, except as indicated in Subsection D(2) below.
(2) 
The fee shall be $97 per special device for the following: gas piping, grease traps, oil separators, refrigeration units, water service connections, sewer service connections, backflow preventers equipment with test ports (double check valve assembly, reduced pressure zone and pressure vacuum breaker backflow preventers), active solar systems, sewer pumps and interceptors. There shall be no inspection fee charged for gas service entrances.
[Amended 7-28-2011 by Ord. No. 2011-09]
(3) 
For cross connections and backflow preventers that are subject to testing annually, the fee shall be $75 for each device.
(4) 
The fee for roof drainage systems in use groups other than R-3, R-4 and R-5 shall be $225 per building or system.
[Amended 7-28-2011 by Ord. No. 2011-09]
E. 
Fees for electrical fixtures and devices:
(1) 
For the first block consisting of one to 50 receptacles, fixtures or devices, the fee shall be $54; for each additional block consisting of up to 25 receptacles, fixtures or devices, the fee shall be $15. For the purpose of computing this fee, receptacles, fixtures or devices shall include lighting fixtures, wall switches, convenience receptacles, sensors, dimmers, alarm devices, smoke and heat detectors, communications outlets, light-standards eight feet or less in height including luminaires, emergency lights, electric signs, exit lights or similar electric fixtures and devices rated 20 amperes or less, including motors or equipment rated less than one horsepower (hp) or one kilowatt (kw).
[Amended 7-28-2011 by Ord. No. 2011-09]
(2) 
For each motor or electrical device rated from one hp or one kw to 10 hp or 10 kw; for each transformer or generator rated from one kw or one kva to 10 kw or 10 kva; for each replacement of wiring involving one branch circuit or part thereof; for each storable pool or hydro massage bathtub; for each underwater lighting fixture; for household electric cooking equipment rated up to 16 kw; for each fire security or burglar alarm control unit; for each receptacle rated from 30 amperes to 50 amperes; for each light-standard greater than eight feet in height, including luminaires; and for each communications closet, the fee shall be $25.
[Amended 7-28-2011 by Ord. No. 2011-09]
(3) 
For each motor or electrical device rated from greater than 10 hp or 10 kw to 50 hp or 50 kw; for each service equipment, panel board, switch board, switch gear, motor-control-center, or disconnecting means rated 200 amperes or less; for each transformer or generator rated from greater than 10 kw or 10 kva to 45 kw or 45 kva; for each electric sign rated from greater than 20 amperes to 225 amperes, including associated disconnecting means; for each receptacle rated greater than 50 amperes; and for each utility load management device, the fee shall be $69.
[Amended 7-28-2011 by Ord. No. 2011-09]
(4) 
For each motor or electrical device rated from greater than 50 hp or 50 kw to 100 hp or 100 kw; for each service equipment, panel board, switch board, switch gear, motor-control-center or disconnecting means rated from greater than 200 amperes to 1,000 amperes; and for each transformer or generator rated from greater than 45 kw or 45 kva to 112.5 kw or 112.5 kva, the fee shall be $138.
[Amended 7-28-2011 by Ord. No. 2011-09]
(5) 
For each motor or electrical device rated greater than 100 hp or 100 kw; for each service equipment, panel board, switch board, switch gear, motor-control-center or disconnecting means rated greater than 1,000 amperes; and for each transformer or generator rated greater than 112.5 kw or 112.5 kva, the fee shall be $685.
[Amended 7-28-2011 by Ord. No. 2011-09]
(6) 
The fee for electrical work for each permanently installed aboveground or in-ground swimming pool as defined in the building subcode, spa, hot tub or fountain shall be charged on the basis of the number of electrical fixtures and the rating of electrical devices involved in accordance with Subsection E(1) through (5) above. The fee for a private residential swimming pool in use groups R-3, R-4 and R-5 shall be $69 and only includes a filter/pump/motor, receptacle, timer and bonding. Any other equipment or fixtures installed shall be charged on the basis of the number of electrical fixtures and the rating of electrical devices involved in accordance with Subsection E(1) through (5) above.
[Amended 7-28-2011 by Ord. No. 2011-09]
(7) 
The fee charged in conjunction with the annual electrical inspection of swimming pools, spas or hot tubs shall be $125 per application.
[Amended 7-28-2011 by Ord. No. 2011-09]
(8) 
The flat fee for a photovolatic (PV) system installed in use groups R-3, R-4 and R-5 shall be $150. The fee for all other use groups shall be calculated in accordance with the number of arrays, "communication points," devices, switches and subpanels. Stand-alone systems shall be charged as a service in addition to the above fees.
[Amended 7-28-2011 by Ord. No. 2011-09]
(9) 
For installations consisting of multimeter stacks, the fee shall be based on the ampere rating of the main bus and not upon the number of meters or rating of disconnects on the meter stack. Individual loadside panel boards shall be charged in accordance with Subsection E(3), (4) or (5) above.
(10) 
For electrical work requiring replacement of service entrance conductors or feeder conductors only, the fee shall be in accordance with Subsection E(2) through (5) above based on the designed ampere rating of the overcurrent device of the service or feeder.
(11) 
The fee charged for process equipment shall be based on the ampere rating of the overcurrent device protecting the conductor feeding the process equipment or the cutoff device.
(12) 
For the purpose of computing these fees, all electrical and communications devices, utilization equipment and motors which are part of the premises wiring, except those which are a portable plug-in type, shall be counted.
F. 
For fire protection and hazardous equipment, sprinklers, standpipes, detectors (smoke/heat/carbon monoxide), preengineered suppression systems, gas- and oil-fired appliances not connected to the plumbing system, kitchen exhaust systems, incinerators and crematoriums, the fee shall be as follows:
[Amended 7-28-2011 by Ord. No. 2011-09]
(1) 
The fee for 20 or fewer heads or detectors shall be $82; for 21 to and including 100 heads, the fee shall be $151; for 101 to and including 200 heads, the fee shall be $289; for 201 to and including 400 heads, the fee shall be $748; for 401 to and including 1,000 heads, the fee shall be $1,150. In computing fees for heads and detectors, the number of each shall be counted separately and two fees, one for heads and one for detectors shall be charged.
(2) 
The fee for each individual standpipe shall be $289.
(3) 
The fee for each independent preengineered system shall be $138.
(4) 
The fee for each gas-, oil- or propane-fired appliance that is not connected to the plumbing system shall be $75.
(5) 
The fee for each solid fuel-burning device shall be $75 per unit.
(6) 
The fee for each fire pump shall be $289 per unit.
(7) 
The fee for each commercial-type kitchen exhaust system shall be $125. Use groups R-3 and R-5 are exempt from this fee.
(8) 
The fee for each incinerator shall be $460.
(9) 
The fee for each crematorium shall be $460.
(10) 
There shall be a fee of $75 per dwelling unit for single and multiple station smoke detectors, heat detectors, carbon monoxide detectors and fire alarm systems installed in R-3, R-4 and R-5-type dwellings. For detectors and fire alarm systems installed in all other use groups, the fee shall be charged in accordance with Subsection F(1) above.
(11) 
The minimum fee for the installation, relocation or replacement of illuminated or self-luminous exit signs, exit directional signage and/or emergency lighting fixtures shall be $65 for the first 12 devices and $25 for each additional device thereafter.
(12) 
The fee for the installation, relocation or replacement of each fire protection device not specified above or otherwise shall be $65 per device. Such devices may include but not be limited to, voice alarms, speakers, fire department communication devices, equipment controls, replacement valves, fittings, etc. Any device that is considered repair work and not subject to a construction permit in accordance with the regulations shall not be charged a fee.
G. 
Fees for certificates and other permits are as follows:
[Amended 7-28-2011 by Ord. No. 2011-09]
(1) 
The fee for a demolition permit shall be $100 for any single structure of one- or two-family-dwelling residences in the R-3 use group; all other use groups will be $200 per structure. The fee for an underground or aboveground tank abandonment or removal permit shall be $95 for a single tank. Each additional structure or tank demolished, abandoned or removed shall be $50 for each additional unit located on the same block and lot.
(2) 
The fee to construct a sign shall be in the amount of $3 per square foot of the surface area of the sign, computed on one side only for double-faced signs.
(3) 
The fee for a certificate of occupancy shall be in the amount of 10% of the total construction permit fee. The minimum fee shall be $150, except for one-family structures of less than 5,000 square feet in area and less than 30 feet in height covered by use group R-3 or R-5, and structures on farms, including commercial farm buildings subject to N.J.A.C. 5:23-3.2(d), for which the minimum fee shall be $75.
(4) 
The fee for a temporary certificate of occupancy renewal issued in accordance with the regulations shall be $50.
(5) 
The fee for a certificate of occupancy granted pursuant to a change of use group shall be $150.
(6) 
The fee for a certificate of continued occupancy issued under N.J.A.C. 5:23-2.23(c) shall be $150.
(7) 
The fee for an application for a variation in accordance with N.J.A.C. 5:23-2.10 shall be $748 for Class I structures and $151 for Class II and Class III structures. The fee for resubmission of an application for a variation shall be $289 for Class I structures and $82 for Class II and Class III structures.
(8) 
The fee for a permit for lead hazard abatement work shall be $176. The fee for a lead abatement clearance certificate shall be $35.
(9) 
The fee to reinstate suspended or abandoned permits described in N.J.A.C. 5:23-2.16(b) shall be $50 per outstanding subcode. This fee may be waived at the discretion of the construction official.
H. 
Mechanical. The fee for the inspections of mechanical equipment in use groups R-3, R-4 and R-5 shall be $75 for the first two appliances and $25 for each additional appliance. This flat fee includes all costs associated with the incidental connections and extensions of associated gas, fuel oils and/or domestic water to the specific appliance. This does not include the requirement for an electrical permit if needed.
[Amended 7-28-2011 by Ord. No. 2011-09]
I. 
Elevator devices. The elevator unit at the Department of Community Affairs performs all plan review and inspection services of elevator devices and equipment for the Township. The fees established, effective and published by DCA for plan review, inspections, variations, etc., shall be in the amount as noted in N.J.A.C. 5:23-4 and N.J.A.C. 5:23-12 respectively. A copy of the current DCA fee schedule is available upon request and adopted herein.
[1]
Editor's Note: See Ch. 75, Construction Codes, Uniform
[Amended 12-7-1994 by Ord. No. 1994-24; 9-20-2000 by Ord. No. 2000-11; 12-8-2011 by Ord. No. 2011-12]
A. 
The fee for any dog, nonspayed or nonneutered, which is of licensing age and, therefore, of reproductive age as determined by the New Jersey Department of Health, shall be $13.
B. 
The fee for any dog of licensing age and, therefore, of reproductive age whose owners present a statement signed by a veterinarian or a notarized statement signed personally certifying that the dog has been sterilized shall be $10.
C. 
Any dog license fee which is tendered late shall be subject to a late penalty, after April 1, of $5. The date for renewal shall be March 1. A late charge shall be assessed after April 1.
D. 
The annual license fee for a kennel providing accommodations for 10 dogs or less shall be $12 per year and for more than 10 dogs shall be $27 per year. The annual license fee for a pet shop shall be $12. No fee shall be charged for a shelter or a pound.
[1]
Editor's Note: See Ch. 63, Animals, Art. I, Dogs.
A. 
The fee charged for any fire permit required by Article I of Chapter 95, Fire Prevention, shall be as provided in the Uniform Fire Code, N.J.A.C. 5:70-2.9.
[Amended 12-8-2016 by Ord. No. 2016-19]
B. 
The application fee for the certificate of smoke detector and carbon monoxide alarm compliance (CSDCMAC) shall be in accordance with the provisions of the Uniform Fire Code, N.J.A.C. 5:70-2.9.
[Added 9-20-2000 by Ord. No. 2000-11; amended 3-2-2005 by Ord. No. 2005-1]
C. 
The fee for a firesafety status certificate pursuant to § 95-50 shall be $25.
[Added 9-20-2000 by Ord. No. 2000-11]
A. 
The fees for a retail food establishment license are as follows:
(1) 
Retail food establishment, permanent locale: $50.
(2) 
Temporary retail food establishments: $50.
(3) 
Charitable corporation: no fee.
B. 
The aforementioned fees shall be annual.
[Added 7-11-1990 by Ord. No. 1990-11]
[1]
Editor's Note: See Ch. 102, Food Establishments.
The fees to be charged for permitting games of chance, bingo or raffles shall be in accordance with the state-mandated fees and shall be collected by the Township pursuant thereto.
[1]
Editor's Note: See Ch. 68, Bingo and Games of Chance.
[Added 9-20-2000 by Ord. No. 2000-11]
Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 40:55D-12, a sum not to exceed $0.25 per name, or $10, whichever is greater, may be charged for such list described in § 22-21.
[Amended 5-2-1990 by Ord. No. 1990-5; 12-4-1991 by Ord. No. 1991-26; 4-1-1998 by Ord. No. 1998-8; 9-4-2002 by Ord. No. 2002-11; 4-15-2009 by Ord. No. 2009-07; 9-28-2017 by Ord. No. 2017-14]
A. 
There shall be a continuing obligation to pay application fees and professional and consulting fees incurred during the course of review. Applicants submitting the applications set forth herein shall pay such application and escrow fees as are due and all costs for professional services incurred by the Township in connection with the review and approval. In conjunction with payment of such professional and consulting fees, the applicant shall make an escrow deposit in the amount and manner set forth herein and shall execute an agreement in a form provided by the Township obligating itself to pay such fees. The application fee is a flat fee to cover direct administrative expenses and is nonrefundable.
(1) 
Example: application fees calculation.
(a) 
An application for minor site plan approval that does not include a request for variance relief would pay an application fee of $200.
(b) 
An application for minor site plan approval that includes a request for "C" variance relief from one or more ordinance requirements would pay the site plan application fee of $200 plus the "C" variance application fee of $100 (if a "D" variance is requested the "D" variance application fee of $200 would apply in place of the "C" variance application fee of $100). The required initial escrow deposit is not cumulative, and as such the escrow deposit would be based on the higher of the two amounts listed within the ordinance. In this example the required escrow deposit for minor site plan review is $2,000 while the escrow deposit for a "C" variance is $300. The amount required for initial escrow deposit is $2,000.
(c) 
A residential application (with no site plan) that requests variance relief from one or more standards would submit the variance application fee of $100 and escrow deposit of $300 (the application fee and escrow deposit is not cumulative for each variance).
B. 
Amount of fees and escrow deposits due. Each applicant shall, prior to its application being deemed complete, submit to the Community Development Director or his or her designee, in cash or by certified check or money order, the following application fees and escrow deposits, together with a fully executed escrow agreement in the form provided by the Township:
(1) 
Interpretation of chapter (N.J.S.A. 40:55D-70b) or appeal of Zoning Officer's interpretation (N.J.S.A. 40:55D-70a).
(a) 
Application fee: $50.
(b) 
Escrow deposit: $300.
(2) 
Zoning variance. The application fees and initial escrow deposits listed within Subsection B(2)(a) and (b) below are for applications that do not request site plan review and approval. In the event site plan review and approval is required, a separate application form, along with the appropriate fee and escrow, shall be submitted. For example: If an applicant submits an application for a "D" variance that results in a site plan approval being required, the applicant must submit the application, fees, and escrow for site plan approval.
[Amended 11-8-2018 by Ord. No. 2018-15]
(a) 
Application fee.
[1] 
"C" variance under N.J.S.A. 40:55D-70c: $100.
[2] 
"D" variance under N.J.S.A. 40:55D-70d: $200.
[3] 
"D" variance under N.J.S.A. 40:55D-70d: $50 for a prohibited animal on a property zoned residential.
(b) 
Escrow deposit.
[1] 
"C" variance under N.J.S.A. 40:55D-70c: $300.
[2] 
"D" variance under N.J.S.A. 40:55D-70d: $1,000.
[3] 
"D" variance under N.J.S.A. 40:55D-70d: $300 for a prohibited animal on a property zone residential.
(3) 
Informal review.
(a) 
Application fee: $100.
(b) 
Escrow deposit: $500.
(4) 
Site plan review (minor; preliminary major; final major; and amended preliminary/final major).
(a) 
Application fee: $200 (plus variance fee if necessary).
Note: The application fee above is for each required approval. For example: If an application is filed for both preliminary and final major site plan approval, the site plan review fee shall be calculated as follows: $200 + $200 = $400. If one or more variances are requested, the variance fee of $100 for "C" or $200 for "D" shall also be submitted. Applications for amended preliminary/final major site plan or subdivision approval shall be required to pay one application fee of $200 and post initial escrow in accordance with the amounts listed for final approval.
(b) 
Escrow deposit.
[1] 
Minor site plan: $2,000.
[2] 
Major site plan preliminary approval.
[a] 
Nonresidential: $2,000 plus $300 per acre or fraction thereof; or
[b] 
Residential: $2,000 plus $100 per dwelling unit.
[3] 
Major site plan final approval.
[a] 
Nonresidential: $1,500 plus $150 per acre or fraction thereof; or
[b] 
Residential: $1,500 or $50 per dwelling unit.
(c) 
The above fees shall also apply to conditional use applications.
(d) 
Waiver of site plan requests.
[1] 
Application fee: $100.
[2] 
Escrow deposit: $500.
(5) 
Minor subdivision review.
(a) 
Application fee: $200 (plus variance fee if necessary).
(b) 
Escrow deposit: $600 per lot (including existing lot).
(6) 
Major subdivision sketch plat review:
(a) 
Application fee: $200.
(b) 
Escrow deposit: $1,000.
(7) 
Major subdivision review, preliminary.
(a) 
Application fee: $200 (plus variance fee if necessary).
(b) 
Escrow deposit: $3,500 plus $200 per lot.
(8) 
Major subdivision review, final.
(a) 
Application fee: $200.
(b) 
Escrow deposit: $1,750 plus $150 per lot.
(9) 
Escrow deposit for Tax Map preparation (to be submitted at time of initial application).
Number of Lots
Cost per Lot
1 to 5
$80
6 to 20
$55
21 to 50
$40
Greater than 50
$30
(10) 
Development/redevelopment proposal review. Prior to submission of an application to Council or the Planning Board, fees shall be payable based on the size of the proposed project.
(a) 
Application fee: $200.
(b) 
Escrow deposit in accordance with the following schedule:
Gross Floor Area
(square feet)
Deposit
Less than 6,000
$500
6,001 to 10,000
$1,500
10,001 to 15,000
$2,000
15,001 to 20,000
$2,500
20,001 to 40,000
$4,500
Over 40,001
$5,500
(11) 
Grading plan (plot plan) review. The initial escrow deposit for professional grading plan (plot plan) review and inspection services is $600. If curb and/or sidewalk installation is required, an additional initial escrow deposit of $800 shall be posted with the Township for inspection of curb and/or sidewalk construction. Reference §§ 88-10D(2) and 178-18C(3).
[Amended 9-28-2017 by Ord. No. 2017-15]
C. 
All relevant provisions regarding the collection, deposit and disposition of application and escrow fees as set forth in the Municipal Land Use Law, N.J.S.A. 40:55D-1 et seq., are hereby incorporated herein by reference fully.
D. 
Inspection fees and escrow.
[Amended 9-28-2017 by Ord. No. 2017-15; 5-9-2019 by Ord. No. 2019-07]
(1) 
In accordance with N.J.S.A. 40:55D-53, as amended by P.L. 2017, c. 312, the obligor shall reimburse the Township for all reasonable fees paid to the Municipal Engineer for the inspection of improvements.
(2) 
The municipality shall require from the developer a deposit for the inspection fees in an amount not to exceed, except for extraordinary circumstances, the greater of:
(a) 
$500; or
(b) 
Five percent of all private and public site improvements.
(c) 
For those developments for which the inspection fees are less than $10,000, fees may, at the option of the developer, be paid in two installments. The initial amount deposited by a developer shall be 50% of the inspection fees. When the balance on deposit drops to 10% of the inspection fees because the amount deposited by the developer has been reduced by the amount paid to the Municipal Engineer for inspection, the developer shall deposit the remaining 50% of the inspection fees. For those developments for which the inspection fees are $10,000 or greater, fees may, at the option of the developer, be paid in four installments. The initial amount deposited by a developer shall be 25% of the inspection fees. When the balance on deposit drops to 10% of the inspection fees because the amount deposited by the developer has been reduced by the amount paid to the Municipal Engineer for inspection, the developer shall make additional deposits of 25% of the inspection fees. The Municipal Engineer shall not perform any inspection if sufficient funds to pay for those inspections are not on deposit.
(3) 
Curb and/or sidewalk inspection initial escrow deposit per § 178-18C(3): $800.
E. 
Each applicant who shall submit a plan for site approval shall agree in writing, by execution of an escrow agreement, to pay all reasonable costs for professional review of the plans and application and for inspection of the improvements required by the Planning Board or Zoning Board. All costs shall be paid in full before any occupancy of the premises is permitted or occupancy permit is issued.
F. 
Requirements for a complete application.
(1) 
No application for development shall be deemed complete if there are outstanding, uncollected fees and/or escrows resulting from past applications or prior submissions involving the property in question or a part thereof, including the base tract, and no application shall be deemed complete if there are outstanding taxes.
(2) 
Proof of payment of taxes and sewer and water charges shall be a prerequisite of certification as a complete application. No date for hearing shall be set until the Community Development Director certifies the application as complete which may include assistance from the Board professionals.
[1]
Editor's Note: See Ch. 178, Subdivisions and Site Plans.
[Amended 9-20-2000 by Ord. No. 2000-11; 4-18-2007 by Ord. No. 2007-13]
A. 
Use of municipal building.
(1) 
Annual permit fee: $150.
(2) 
Event permit fee: $15.
(3) 
Pursuant to § 27-3C, only nonofficial organizations with third and fourth priority shall be required to pay a fee.
B. 
Recreation bus. The fee for a special event use of the recreation bus shall be $150. In addition, there shall be an hourly fee for the driver as set forth in the current Salary Ordinance.
[Amended 6-6-2007 by Ord. No. 2007-18]
[Added 11-23-2004 by Ord. No. 2004-13]
A. 
All requests for discovery in matters pending in the Maple Shade Municipal Court shall be submitted through the Municipal Prosecutor.
B. 
The following fees shall be payable by the requestor to the Township of Maple Shade for the discovery provided:
[Amended 2-23-2012 by Ord. No. 2012-02]
(1) 
Letter-size page or smaller: $0.05 per page.
(2) 
Legal-size page or larger: $0.07 per page.
(3) 
Electronic records and nonprinted material: no change.
(4) 
Computer disc, CD-ROM, DVD: actual costs.
(5) 
Photographs will be photocopied at the rates established herein. If requests are made for duplicate photographs, the actual cost of making the photographs shall be charged.
(6) 
Any government record requested in a medium which is not in the printed form shall be charged according to the actual cost of duplication and for actual costs of any needed supplies, such as computer discs.
C. 
Where the discovery must be obtained from an entity other than the Township of Maple Shade, e.g., another police department, the actual costs paid to the entity shall be paid by the requestor.
[Amended 10-20-1999 by Ord. No. 1999-10; 978-2005 by Ord. No. 2005-4; 9-28-2017 by Ord. No. 2017-14]
A. 
A license fee for individuals, corporations, partnerships and associations shall be paid to the Township at the time the application for a new business license is submitted. Business licenses are not transferable. Said fees are as follows:
Individual (home-based)
$65 ($25 refund if license refused)
Individual (site up to 3,000 square feet)
$65 ($15 refund if license refused)
Individual (site over 3,000 square feet)
$100 ($20 refund if license refused)
A single member LLC shall be considered an "individual" for the purposes of this section.
Corporation, partnership or association (site up to 3,000 square feet)
$100 ($20 refund, if license refused)
Corporation, partnership or association (site over 3,000 square feet)
$150 ($25 refund if license refused)
B. 
For purposes of this section, the term "site" is defined as the precise dimensions of the property lot or site upon which the business is located or, if part of a larger building or center, the precise dimensions of the area occupied by the business.
C. 
A renewal fee of $25 shall be paid to the Township at the time of application for renewal of a business license.
[1]
Editor's Note: See Ch. 114, Licenses and Permits, Art. I, New Businesses.
[Added 9-20-2000 by Ord. No. 2000-12][1]
The annual fee for each license hereunder shall be the sum of $75 plus $10 per each unit containing sleeping quarters.
[1]
Editor's Note: See Ch. 114, Licenses and Permits, Art. III, Motels.
[Amended 9-20-2000 by Ord. No. 2000-11]
Pursuant to Chapter 145 of the Code of the Township of Maple Shade:
A. 
The application fee with respect to obtaining a peddling and soliciting registration card shall be $25.
B. 
The license transfer fee shall be $25.
[Amended 12-5-2007 by Ord. No. 2007-31]
The license fee for pool tables shall be $100 for the first five pool tables per location and $100 for each additional five pool tables or portion thereof.
[1]
Editor's Note: Former § 88-15, Police accident reports, as amended, was repealed 11-23-2004 by Ord. No. 2004-13.
[Added 9-20-2000 by Ord. No. 2000-11; amended 12-11-2014 by Ord. No. 2014-24; 10-11-2018 by Ord. No. 2018-12]
Fees pursuant to Chapter 175, Streets and Sidewalks, Article III, Street Excavations, of the Code of the Township of Maple Shade shall be as follows:
A. 
Road opening permit application fee: $50 per opening per roadway.
B. 
An inspection fee of $200 per opening per roadway shall be submitted and deposited in a trust account with every permit application (except if the applicant is posting an escrow for inspection - a W9 and developer escrow sheet must be submitted if escrow is posted) to cover the costs of the Township Engineer to review, approve or deny such permit and to inspect all work after completion.
[Amended 9-20-2000 by Ord. No. 2000-11]
The fee for a swimming pool shall be as provided by the Uniform Construction Code fee schedule in § 88-4 of this chapter.
The annual fee to be paid for a taxicab license pursuant to Chapter 183 of the Code of the Township of Maple Shade shall be $50 per cab which shall accompany the application no later than August 31. The fee for a limousine license shall be the same as a taxicab license. The fee for a taxicab/limousine operator's license shall be $10 for the original license and $5 for each renewal thereof, said license to expire August 31.
[Added 6-2-2010 by Ord. No. 2010-09[1]]
A. 
Tax redemption calculation for party entitled to redeem: The Tax Collector shall provide any party entitled to redeem a tax lien certificate pursuant to N.J.S.A. 54:5-54 with two calculations of the amount required to redeem within a calendar year at no cost. A third request for calculation within a calendar year shall be provided for a fee of $25. Any subsequent request shall be provided for a fee of $50.
B. 
Tax redemption calculation for lienholder: Any request by a lienholder for a tax lien redemption calculation from the Tax Collector shall be provided for a fee of $50 for each request. This fee shall not become part of the lien and shall not be passed on to any party entitled to redeem pursuant to N.J.S.A. 54:5-54.
C. 
Tax sale fee: Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 54:5-38, the officer conducting a tax sale shall collect and pay into the municipal treasury a fee for all costs incurred by the municipality in holding the sale. The amount of fee so paid shall be 2% of the existing lien as stated in N.J.S.A. 54:4-19 and 54:5-2 but not less than $15 and not more than $100 for each parcel in the sale. This fee shall be payable and collected beginning the 50th calendar day prior to the date of the tax sale. If unpaid prior to the tax sale, the fee shall form part of the tax lien.
[1]
Editor's Note: This ordinance also provided for the renumbering of former §§ 88-19 and 88-20 as §§ 88-20 and 88-21, respectively.
[Added 9-20-2000 by Ord. No. 2000-11]
All applications for tow operator's license under Chapter 189 of the Code of the Township of Maple Shade shall be accompanied by a fee of $100 to cover the Township's cost in processing the application.
[Added 12-11-2014 by Ord. No. 2014-23]
A. 
For residential building, addition, accessory use construction or use modification: $10 per permit.
B. 
For commercial addition, accessory use construction or use modification: $25 per permit.
The following fees shall be charged for the following items:
A. 
Certified copies of vital statistics records: $10 for the first copy and $5 for each subsequent copy.
[Amended 8-4-2004 by Ord. No. 2004-9; 2-15-2006 by Ord. No. 2006-2]
B. 
Duplicate copy(ies) of tax bill requested by a mortgagee, servicing organization or property tax processing organization: a maximum fee of $50 for the first duplicate copy and a maximum fee of $25 for each subsequent duplicate copy of same tax bill in the same fiscal year pursuant to N.J.S.A. 54:4-64(d).
[Amended 10-20-1999 by Ord. No. 1999-10]
C. 
OPRA request fees.
[Amended 11-26-2002 by Ord. No. 2002-17; 11-23-2004 by Ord. No. 2004-13; 11-23-2010 by Ord. No. 2010-16]
(1) 
Letter-size page or smaller: $0.05 per page.
(2) 
Legal-size page or larger: $0.07 per page.
(3) 
Electronic records and nonprinted material: no change.
(4) 
Computer disc, CD-ROM, DVD: actual costs.
(5) 
Any government record requested in a medium which is not in the printed form shall be charged according to the actual cost of duplication and for actual costs of any needed supplies, such as computer discs.
D. 
Duplicate recording of the proceedings before any Board or the Township Council shall be $10 per tape or any part thereof.[1]
[1]
Editor's Note: Former Subsection E, regarding minutes of public meetings, as amended, which immediately followed this subsection, was repealed 11-23-2004 by Ord. No. 2004-13.
E. 
Permits for temporary storage units: $10. No fee is required for renewal.
[Added 6-7-2006 by Ord. No. 2006-10]
F. 
Copy of zoning ordinance: $10.
[Added 4-18-2007 by Ord. No. 2007-13]
G. 
Solemnization of marriage or civil union: $100.
[Added 4-18-2007 by Ord. No. 2007-13]
H. 
Service charge for a check or other written instrument returned for insufficient funds: $20. The Township may require future payments to be tendered in cash or by certified or cashier’s check.
[Added 6-6-2007 by Ord. No. 2007-21]
[Added 11-9-2017 by Ord. No. 2017-19]
A. 
Application fee (per pole/installation): $100.
B. 
Review/inspection fee (per pole/installation): $750.
[Added 5-9-2019 by Ord. No. 2019-04]
A. 
There shall be a continuing obligation to pay application fees, professional and consulting fees incurred during the course of review, approval and if needed inspection by the Township for projects that involve municipal facilities. Municipal facilities include but are not limited to land, water tanks and other structures and equipment. The application fee is a flat fee to cover direct administrative expenses and is nonrefundable. In conjunction with payment of such professional and consulting fees, the applicant shall make an initial escrow deposit in the amount and manner set forth herein and shall execute an agreement in a form provided by the Township. Additional fees, escrow and approval may be needed if during the course of review it is determined that the proposed project requires Land Use Board approval.
B. 
Amount of fees and escrow deposits due. Each applicant shall, prior to its application being deemed complete (by the Township which may include assistance by Township professionals), submit to the Community Development Director or designee the following application fee and initial escrow deposit:
(1) 
Application fee: $50.
(2) 
Escrow deposit: $2,000.