[HISTORY: Adopted by the Council of the City of Rye 2-4-1942 as Section 6-3.5 of Ch. 3 of the General Ordinances; amended in its entirety 12-15-2010 by L.L. No. 10-2010. Subsequent amendments noted where applicable.]
The purpose of this chapter is to provide for the licensing and identification of dogs, the control and protection of the dog population and the protection of persons, property, domestic animals and deer from dog attack damage.
Any dog harbored within the City of Rye which is owned by a resident of New York City or licensed by the City of New York, or which is owned by a nonresident of New York State and licensed by a jurisdiction outside the State of New York, shall for a period of 30 days be exempt from the licensing and identification provisions of this chapter.
All licensing fees are set forth in the Fee Schedule adopted by the City Council. Excepted from payment of the license fee are applications submitted for a dog license for any guide, hearing, service, war, working search, detection, police and therapy dogs. In addition, dogs owned by one or more seniors, 65 years of age or older, shall be exempt from the City's licensing fees. All dog licenses shall carry with them an additional fee of $10 as authorized by § 110-4(a) of the New York State Agriculture and Markets Law.
All dogs in the City of Rye must be licensed by the City Clerk by the age of four months and the owner(s) of such dog(s) must present a current certificate of rabies vaccination at the time of licensing or the renewal of an existing license. In the alternative, the owner must submit a statement from a licensed veterinarian that such vaccination would endanger the dog's life, in which case vaccination shall not be required.
All dog licenses will be for a period of one year and will expire at the end of the month one year from the date of issue. Licenses are not transferable.
Fees and requirements for licensing of dogs:
The fee for a spayed or neutered dog shall be set by the City Council in the Fee Schedule. It shall include a state assessment pursuant to § 110-3 of the New York State Agriculture and Markets Law, and additional funds for enumeration as provided for by § 110-4(a).
The fee for an unspayed or unneutered dog shall be set by the City Council in the Fee Schedule. It shall include a state assessment pursuant to § 110-3 of the New York State Agriculture and Markets Law, and additional funds for enumeration as provided for by § 110-4(a).
Enumeration fee: If the City Council determines the need for a dog enumeration, a fee set by the City Council in the Fee Schedule shall be assessed to all dogs found unlicensed or not renewed at the time enumeration is conducted.
The City of Rye does not allow the licensing of dogs by a shelter. The shelter must notify the adoptive owners of their responsibility to license any dog who will be living within the City of Rye. The shelter must provide the City of Rye with a list of adoptive owners monthly.
All dogs must wear identification at all times. Show dogs are exempted from the identification requirement of § 111 of the New York State Agriculture and Markets Law during participation.
Notification of a change in dog ownership or that a dog has been lost or stolen must be given to the City of Rye within 30 days of such event.
The owner of any dog impounded shall be entitled to redeem that dog within five business days, excluding the day the dog is impounded, provided that the owner produces proof the dog is licensed and identified and pays fees as set forth in the Fee Schedule adopted by the City Council.
[Amended 10-22-2014 by L.L. No. 8-2014]
Except as permitted in § 76-5B, no person owning, harboring or having the custody and control of a dog shall permit such dog to be at large in the City of Rye, elsewhere than on the premises of the owner, except if it is on the premises of another person with the knowledge and assent of such other person.
During the hours of 6:00 a.m. to 9:00 a.m., the owner, harborer or person having the custody and control of a dog visiting the designated areas in § 76-5F shall control such dog at all times, but need not restrain such dog by a chain or leash. The maximum number of dogs off-leash that any one person shall have custody and control over is three. After 9:00 a.m., all dogs must be leashed or chained in accordance with this chapter.
Any person wishing to allow his/her dog(s) to run at large without being restrained by a chain or leash shall register his/her dog(s) with the Rye City Clerk annually. Any dog at large must have a valid registration tag affixed to his/her collar at all times when the dog(s) are at large.
Any violation of this chapter may result in a fine of up to $250 per violation and/or suspension or termination of the off-leash registration.
The registration fee will be set annually by the Rye City Council.
The designated areas within the City where dogs are permitted to run at large from 6:00 a.m. to 9:00 a.m. are:
[Amended 10-22-2014 by L.L. No. 8-2014]
Except as set forth in § 76-5B above, the owner, harborer or person having the custody and control of a dog in the City of Rye which is not on the premises of the owner or upon the premises of another person with the knowledge and consent of such person shall control and restrain such dog by a chain or leash not exceeding eight feet in length.
Any person who owns, harbors or has the custody of any dog shall remove promptly any feces left by such dog at any place within the city except upon private property with the consent of the owner of such property; provided, however, that this provision is not applicable to a blind person while actually using a guide dog licensed as such pursuant to the Agriculture and Markets Law. In no event shall any feces be deposited in storm or sanitary sewers or drains.
Every person found to have violated this chapter shall be liable for a civil penalty of not less than $25 nor more than $50; for a second such determination within one year after the date of the prior violation, such person shall be liable for a civil penalty of not less than $50 nor more than $75; and upon a third or subsequent determination within one year after the date of first violation, such person shall be punished by a penalty of not less than $75 nor more than $100.