[Adopted 1-18-1971 by Ord. No. 393 as Ch. 40, Art. II, of the 1971 Code]
[Amended 4-7-1980 by Ord. No. 620; 5-19-1980 by Ord. No. 625; 6-15-1982 by Ord. No. 697; 11-7-1984 by Ord. No. 780]
The annual fee for a dog license and registration tag and for each annual renewal thereof shall be $12.80.
[Amended 6-12-1990 by Ord. No. 1008; 7-28-1992 by Ord. No. 1086; 10-28-2008 by Ord. No. 1773; 1-26-2010 by Ord. No. 1797]
There shall also be charged a further fee of $0.20 per license, as required by the State of New Jersey, to fund the State Pilot Clinic.
In the event that the dog to be licensed is an unspayed female or an unneutered male, there shall be an additional fee of $3 as required by the State of New Jersey.
All dogs to be licensed for renewal shall be renewed no later than January 31 of each licensing year.
[Added 7-28-1992 by Ord. No. 1086; amended 10-28-2008 by Ord. No. 1773]
The late fee for each license not renewed prior to April 1 of each licensing year shall be $5.
[Added 10-28-2008 by Ord. No. 1773]
All other provisions of N.J.S.A. 4:19-1 through 4:19-16 are hereby adopted by the Township of Galloway.
[Added 4-7-1980 by Ord. No. 620; amended 5-19-1980 by Ord. No. 625; 12-21-1981 by Ord. No. 680; 11-7-1984 by Ord. No. 780]
All money collected from dog license and registration tag fees shall be disbursed and/or accounted as follows:
All remaining fees are to be deposited in the Galloway Township Dog Account to be used for the administrative costs of the animal control program, including the cost of conducting a dog canvass.
[Added 11-7-1984 by Ord. No. 780]
Any person adjudged guilty of a violation of the provisions of this article shall, upon conviction thereof in the Municipal Court of Galloway Township, be punished by a fine of not less than $25 nor more than $500 or imprisonment for a term not to exceed 30 days, or both, at the discretion of the Court; provided, however, that in the event that the alleged violator obtains the required license after receiving a court summons, but prior to the initially scheduled hearing date, the penalty shall be the minimum fine of $25 which may be payable without the necessity of making a court appearance.