[HISTORY: Adopted by the Commissioners of the Town of Dewey Beach as indicated in article histories. Amendments noted where applicable.]
[Adopted 9-7-1984 as § 620 of the 1984 Code; amended in its entirety 4-16-1994 by Ord. No. 295]
The Sussex County, Delaware, Housing Code (Ordinance No. 419), as authorized by Title 31, Chapter 41 of the Delaware Code, is hereby adopted by reference and shall be referred to as the "Dewey Beach Housing Code."
The Town Building Inspector is hereby authorized to inspect and enforce this article within the Corporate limits of the Town of Dewey Beach.
The provisions of the Dewey Beach Housing Code shall also apply to all resort residential structures offered for rent notwithstanding anything to the contrary contained in the Sussex County Housing Code. Appeals shall be to the Dewey Beach Board of Adjustment.
[Adopted 9-7-1984 as § 621 of the 1984 Code]
[Amended 11-14-1992 by Ord. No. 247; 4-16-1994 by Ord. No. 294]
Any dwelling unit used for residential purposes shall be overcrowded if the number of persons sleeping or living in said dwelling exceeds two persons per bedroom. For purposes of this section a bedroom shall be defined as any room used for sleeping purposes separate and apart from other areas of the dwelling. For purposes of this section a living room or other similar room equipped for sleeping purposes shall be considered the equivalent of a bedroom, but only one such room shall apply per dwelling unit. For purposes of this section kitchens, bathrooms, hallways, alcoves, entryways, unfinished attics or basements, garages, carports, balconies, porches, or decks shall not be considered as bedrooms, or the equivalent of a bedroom.
[Added 1-12-1991 by Ord. No. 202; amended 11-14-1992 by Ord. No. 247]
All written leases and agreements applying to residential property within the corporate limits of the Town of Dewey Beach shall covenant that the lessee(s) have read and understood this article.
[Amended 4-16-1994 by Ord. No. 294]
The owner, lessee or person in a position of control of any dwelling unit found guilty of violating this article shall be fined not less than $200 and not more than $500 for each offense plus court cost. Violations of this article shall be treated as a Class C misdemeanor.