Questions about eCode360? Municipal users Join us daily between 12pm and 1pm EDT to get answers and other tips!
Borough of Brooklawn, NJ
Camden County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
[HISTORY: Adopted by the Mayor and Council of the Borough of Brooklawn 6-9-43 as Ord. No. 114. Amendments noted where applicable.]
Police Department — See Ch. 39.
Residency requirements — See Ch. 42.
[Amended 11-12-70 by Ord. No. 184; 2-14-73; 5-1-2000 by Ord. No. 11-00]
No person shall hereafter become a member of the Brooklawn Fire Company of the Borough of Brooklawn or any unit thereof unless above the age of 18 years or below the age of 40 years, and a citizen of the United States. Persons over the age of 40 years may join the Fire Company, but are not eligible for benefits in the New Jersey State Firemen's Association. A member shall be physically fit to perform the duties of a fireman, as evidenced by a certificate to that effect issued by a physician licensed to practice in the State of New Jersey, after a physical examination for that purpose.
Every member of the Fire Company shall, in each and every year, perform at least 60% of duty, to be composed of actual attendance and duty at fires and drills, and a record shall be kept of such attendance and duty by the Chief of the Fire Department and reported to the municipal officers annually.
Every person seeking to join the Fire Company shall make application to the company or unit which he desires to join, and upon his election to membership by vote of a majority of the unit present and voting, he shall become a member in good standing of the Fire Company after approval of his membership by the Chief and confirmation by the municipal officers and his name shall be entered on a roll of firemen kept by the Municipal Clerk. He shall be given a badge of membership in his unit by the Borough Council, which badge shall be worn at all times when on duty.
Exemption certificates will be issued to members of the Fire Company who shall have served seven years in active duty, under municipal control, as required by L. 1935, c.176, of April 29, 1935, as amended May 26, 1936.[1]
Editor’s Note: See now N.J.S.A. 40A:14-56.