Borough of Millersville, PA
Lancaster County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
[HISTORY: Adopted by the Borough Council of the Borough of Millersville 6-7-1982 by Ord. No. 1982-43. Amendments noted where applicable.]
School crossing guards — See Ch. 30.
Police Pension Fund — See Ch. 76.
[Amended 4-11-1991 by Ord. No. 1991-3]
A Police Department is established in and for the Borough of Millersville. The Police Department shall be composed of a Chief of Police and such subordinate Lieutenants, Sergeants, Corporals and patrolmen as the Council shall from time to time determine, subject to applicable civil service provisions.
The Chief of Police, under the direction of the Mayor, shall be in charge of the Police Department and shall have supervision over its members in the exercise of their powers, duties and authority.
[Amended 7-11-1991 by Ord. No. 1991-8; 7-25-1995 by Ord. No. 1995-5]
The Millersville Borough Police Department shall be made up of the following ranks and numbers in addition to the Chief of Police:
Sergeants: two.
Patrolmen: six.
The existing police force shall be modified to this makeup through the appropriate civil service provisions and shall continue until this time to be the Millersville Borough Police Department.
Thereafter, the police force shall consist of such complement of officers, and in such ranks and numbers, as the Borough Council, in its discretion, shall determine.
Nothing in this chapter shall affect the authority of the Mayor to appoint special policemen during emergencies.
[Added 7-16-1984 by Ord. No. 1984-9]
The Borough Council, at its discretion, may appoint a Police Administrator instead of a Chief of Police to perform management, supervisory and administrative duties for the Police Department and its members, under the direction of the Mayor. The Police Administrator is not expected to perform criminal and/or traffic law enforcement duties.
[Added 2-24-2009 by Ord. No. 2009-3]
Any member of the Police Department, except the Chief of Police, regardless of rank, who has attained or who shall attain the age of 60 years, shall resign from membership in the Police Department.