City of College Park, MD
Prince George's County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
[Adopted 2-22-1994 by Ord. No. 94-O-1]
Editor's Note: Former Art. I, University of Maryland - City of College Park Liaison Committee, adopted 12-13-1966 by Res. No. 66-R-19, was repealed 2-9-1993 by Ord. No. 92-O-15.
When an appointed member misses three consecutive meetings, the Chairperson of the committee shall telephone and also send a show-cause notice to the member stating that his/her name will be automatically stricken from the committee unless that member provides the Chairperson with written justification for such absences within 10 days from the date of the mailing of such notice. Upon receipt of written justification, the committee, by majority vote, shall determine whether or not the written justification is acceptable so as to avoid the need to strike the member's name. The decisions of the committee may be appealed by that appointee, in writing, within 30 days, to the Mayor and Council. The Mayor and Council must act on all appeals within 25 days of receipt of such an appeal.
The above procedure shall apply to all members of paid City boards, except that, in the case of paid boards, the number of consecutive absences needed to trigger a show-cause notice shall be two and not three.
In the event that it is the Chairperson of a committee who absents himself or herself, then, any member of the committee may send the notice; however, it shall be the committee, without the Chairperson voting, that decides on the justifiability of the absences.
As a courtesy, appointees to committees shall be provided with a copy of this provision upon appointment; however, failure to provide a copy shall not void the applicability to any appointee.
The terms "board," "committee" and "commission" as used herein shall be synonymous.
Nothing herein shall be construed as limiting the authority of the Mayor and Council to remove Chairpersons or members of committees for cause.
As soon as practicable after it meets, each committee shall have written minutes of its sessions which reflect each item the committee considered, the action the committee took and each vote that was recorded; the minutes shall be furnished to the City Clerk and preserved for a minimum of one year.
[Added 3-10-2020 by Ord. No. 20-O-03]
The terms of all current members of the boards, commissions and committees appointed under Chapters 15, 38, 138 and 179 of this Code, and all current members of the Airport Authority, shall expire June 30, 2020, subject to reappointment as follows: on July 1, 2020, the current members of the said board, commission or committee and the Airport Authority will be reappointed to a one-, two-, or three-year term determined through a lottery system. As each reappointed member's term ends, the subsequent term for that position shall be for three years, with the intention that the terms of one third of the membership will expire on June 30 annually. In the event that an existing member of a board, commission or committee or the Airport Authority does not seek to be reappointed on July 1, 2020, a new member will be appointed, with a term determined through the lottery system.
Applications for appointment to a board, committee or commission or the Airport Authority, or reapplications by members whose terms are expiring, will be accepted for all terms beginning after July 1, 2020.
A position vacated before the expiration of a term shall be filled by appointment, as authorized for each board, commission or committee, for the extent of the unexpired term.