[HISTORY: Adopted by the Town Board of the Town of Cortlandt 7-19-1983 as L.L. No. 3-1983. Section 117-6 amended at time of adoption of Code; see Ch. 1, General Provisions, Art. I. Other amendments noted where applicable.]
This chapter shall be known and may be cited as the "Town of Cortlandt Alcoholic Beverage Control Law."
This chapter is intended to provide control of the consumption of alcoholic beverages in public places because the Town of Cortlandt recognized that the consumption of alcoholic beverages in public places has led, from time to time, to nuisances, littering and other conduct detrimental to the health, safety and welfare of the residents of the town.
As used herein, the following words shall have the meanings below set forth:
- ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE
- Includes all such beverages as defined in § 3 of the Alcoholic Beverage Control Law of the State of New York.
- PUBLIC PLACE
- Any highway, street, sidewalk, park, playground, parking lot, shopping center, mall or any other place to which the public or a substantial group of persons has access, but excluding those public places wherein the use and consumption of alcoholic beverages is authorized pursuant to a license or permit issued under the Alcoholic Beverage Control Law of the State of New York or under the provisions of this chapter.
No person shall consume or ingest any alcoholic beverage in any public place within the Town of Cortlandt, nor shall any person cause, permit or procure to be consumed alcoholic beverages as defined above in any public place as defined above.
The foregoing prohibition against drinking alcoholic beverages in public places shall not apply or be a violation of this chapter in the event of a gathering which has been granted a special permit by a Supervisor of the Town of Cortlandt or by the Superintendent of Parks, Recreation and Conservation of the Town of Cortlandt.
[Amended 8-17-1993 by L.L. No. 2-1993]
Any person, upon conviction for violation of this chapter, shall be punishable by a fine not to exceed two hundred fifty dollars ($250.) or up to fifteen (15) days in jail or by a civil penalty not exceeding one thousand dollars ($1,000.).