Borough of Tuckerton, NJ
Ocean County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
[HISTORY: Adopted by the Mayor and Council of the Borough of Tuckerton 2-23-2005 by Ord. No. 1-2005. Amendments noted where applicable.]
[Amended 9-5-2007 by Ord. No. 14-2007; 2-6-2012 by Ord. No. 1-2012]
There is hereby established in the Borough of Tuckerton, a Pride and Celebration Committee which shall be known as the "Tuckerton Pride and Celebration Committee." The Committee shall consist of five members and two alternate members. Members and alternate members shall be appointed by the Mayor with the advice and consent of Council. All members shall be residents of the Borough, except that members may include nonpermanent seasonal residents or individuals who own, operate or are employed by a business or commercial establishment within the Borough. All members shall serve without compensation except as hereinafter provided.
The purpose of the Committee shall be for the organization, planning, coordination and running of public events officially sanctioned by the Borough Council. The Committee shall be charged with the organization, planning, coordination and running of the Easter Egg Hunt, Tuckerton Family Day, Fourth of July Celebration, Halloween Safe Walk, Ye Old Fashioned Holiday events, holiday displays, seasonal banners and any other activity which shall be directed by the Mayor and Borough Council.
The Mayor shall appoint, with the advice and consent of Council, two members for a one-year term, two members for a two-year term and one member for a three-year term. Upon the expiration of the initial terms of appointment, all reappointments shall be for a term of three years. Any vacancy which occurs prior to the expiration of the term for that member shall be filled for the unexpired term only. The two alternate members shall be designated at the time of appointment as Alternate No. 1 and Alternate No. 2. The terms of the alternate members shall be for two years, except that the terms of the alternate members first appointed shall be two years for Alternate No. 1 and one year for Alternate No. 2 so that the term of not more than one alternate member shall expire in any one year. A vacancy occurring otherwise than by expiration of term shall be filled for the unexpired term only.
[Amended 9-5-2007 by Ord. No. 14-2007]
The Committee shall organize within 30 days after the appointment of its total membership for the remainder of the then calendar year, and thereafter annually by the election of one of its members as Chairman and the appointment of a Secretary, who shall not be a member of the Committee. The salary of the Secretary shall be fixed by the governing body of the municipality. The Secretary shall keep minutes and records of all meetings. All records shall be public records. All meetings shall comply with the Open Public Meetings Act (N.J.S.A. 10:4-7 et seq.).
The Committee members shall serve without compensation but shall be reimbursed for expenses incurred in the performance of official business, with prior approval of the governing body.
The Committee shall not authorize expenditures which exceed, exclusive of gifts and grants, the amount appropriated by the governing body for its use.