Town of Dayton, NY
Cattaraugus County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
[HISTORY: Adopted by the Town Board of the Town of Dayton 8-26-1982 by L.L. No. 1-1982; approved by majority of electors 11-2-1982. Amendments noted where applicable.]
Bingo — See Ch. 71.
This chapter shall be known as the "Games of Chance Law for the Dayton Fire Department."
As used in this chapter, the following terms shall have the meanings indicated:
A game of chance as defined in Subdivision 3 of § 186 of the General Municipal Law.
The Dayton Fire Department may, upon obtaining a license from the Town Clerk, conduct games of chance within the Town of Dayton as provided in Article 9-A of the General Municipal Law and as provided further in this chapter. Such games of chance shall be conducted in accordance with the laws of the State of New York and with the rules and regulations adopted by the New York State Racing and Wagering Board and pursuant to this chapter
The conduct of games of chance shall be subject to the restrictions imposed by § 189 of the General Municipal Law.
No games of chance shall be conducted on Easter Sunday, Christmas Day or New Year's Eve.
Games of chance may be conducted by the Dayton Fire Department on Sunday after 1:00 p.m. after first obtaining approval of the Dayton Town Board.
The Constable of the Town of Dayton shall exercise control over and supervision of all games of chance conducted under duly authorized licenses. The Town of Dayton Constable shall have all those powers and duties set forth in and for the enforcement of Article 9-A of the General Municipal Law.
This chapter shall take effect immediately upon filing with the office of the Secretary of State and following its approval by a majority of the qualified electors of the Town of Dayton voting on a proposition therefor at a general election held pursuant to the provisions of § 24 of the Municipal Home Rule Law.[1]
Editor's Note: Said proposition passed at the general election held 11-2-1986.