[HISTORY: Adopted by the Township Committee (now Council) of the Township of Jackson 4-29-1985 by Ord. No. 10-85 (Ch. 105 of the 1972 Code). Amendments noted where applicable.]
The purpose of this chapter is to control and regulate unlicensed motor vehicles within the Township of Jackson in order to preserve the public peace and order and protect the health and welfare of the general public of the Township of Jackson.
As used in this chapter, the following terms shall have the meanings indicated:
- MOTOR-DRIVEN VEHICLE
- Includes but is not limited to minibikes, motor scooters,
go-carts, swamp buggies, mopeds and snowmobiles and any other motor-driven
vehicle, not capable of being registered under Title 39, Motor Vehicles
and Traffic Regulation, of the New Jersey Revised Statutes, as amended, except such vehicles as are in such title expressly exempted from registration. Section 431-3A and B shall also apply to vehicles licensed under Title 39, Motor Vehicles and Traffic Regulation, of the New Jersey Revised Statutes, as amended.[Amended 6-24-1985 by Ord. No. 18-85]
Editor's Note: See N.J.S.A. 39:1-1 et seq.
[Amended 3-28-2005 by Ord. No. 18-05]
It shall be unlawful for any person to operate, permit to operate, and suffer to be operated, park or let stand a motor-driven vehicle, as defined herein, within the Township of Jackson under the following circumstances:
On private property of another without the express, prior, written consent of the owner and the occupant of said property.
On any public grounds or property.
In such manner as to create loud, unnecessary or unusual noise so as to disturb or interfere with the peace and quiet of other persons.
In a careless, reckless or negligent manner so as to endanger or be likely to endanger the safety or property of any person.
[Amended 6-12-1995 by Ord. No. 22-95]
The police officer charging the individual with a violation of this chapter may impound said individual's motor-driven vehicle until such time as the Police Department can verify identification and issue summonses in connection with said violation. Impoundment fees will be charged to the violator on a daily basis until the same is redeemed after satisfaction of the above-referred-to requirements.
Any person who violates any one or more of the provisions of this chapter shall, for a first offense, be subject to a fine of not less than $250 nor more than $500 and/or confinement in the Ocean County Jail for a period of not more than 90 days. In the case of a second or subsequent violation, said person shall be subject to a fine of $500 and/or confinement in the Ocean County Jail for a period of not more than 90 days. A separate offense shall be deemed committed on each day during or on which a violation occurs or continues.
[Amended 4-24-2000 by Ord. No. 6-00]