Township of Scotch Plains, NJ
Union County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
[Ord. #95-28]
Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 40:14A-1 et seq., and in accordance with the aforementioned Settlement Agreement and the terms of the 1951 Agreement, the Township council upon acceptance by the Rahway Valley Sewerage Authority shall hereby become a member of and part of said authority.
[Ord. #95-28]
Upon acceptance as a member of and part of the Rahway Valley Sewerage Authority the Township shall be entitled to appoint a representative thereto, which representative shall serve for an initial term ending February 1, 1997 and, thereafter, said representative shall be appointed for a term of five years, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 40:14A-1 et seq.
[Ord. #95-28]
A copy of this chapter, duly certified by the municipal Clerk shall be filed with the office of the Secretary of State of the State of New Jersey, along with the required filing fees, upon passage of this chapter and acceptance of the Township as a member of the Rahway Valley Sewerage Authority by same.
The municipal Clerk shall also forward a copy of the filed chapter to the Rahway Valley Sewerage Authority evidencing that said chapter has been filed with the Secretary of State.
This chapter shall take effect upon second reading and final approval and upon filing of same with the Secretary of the State of New Jersey.
The following limitations shall be placed upon the compensation of members to comply with the requirements of the Statute.
No member shall receive greater compensation than at the rate of $100 per meeting for his or her attendance at regular or special meetings of the Sewerage Authority or committees thereof, and not more than $2,000 in any calendar year; except that the Chairman shall receive such compensation as the Sewerage Authority shall fix, not to exceed $3,000, during his or her one year term of office.
Editor's Note: All of the compensation provided for herein shall be retroactive to January 1, 1998.