[Ord. #2-1966, § 79-1]
A code regulating retail food handling establishments, providing for the inspection of such establishments and fixing penalties for violations is hereby established pursuant to N.J.R.S. 26:3-69.1 to 69.6. A copy of the code is annexed hereto and made a part hereof without the inclusion of the text thereof herein.
[Ord. #2-1966, § 79-2; New]
The code established and adopted by this Chapter is described and commonly known as Chapter XII of the New Jersey State Sanitary Code Revised 1983.
[Ord. #2-1966, § 79-3; New]
Three copies of Chapter XII of the New Jersey State Sanitary Code Revised 1983 have been placed on file in the office of the Clerk of this local Board of Health upon the introduction of this Chapter and will remain on file there until final action is taken on this Chapter for the use and examination of the public.
[Ord. #2-1966, § 79-4; Ord. #2-1973; Ord. #1-1985; Ord. #8-2006, § 1]
No person shall operate a retail food handling establishment unless a certificate or approval of an existing certificate to operate same shall have been issued by this Board of Health. Such certificate or approval of an existing certificate shall be posted in a conspicuous place in such establishment.
The charge for such certificate or approval of an existing certificate shall be in accordance with the following schedule:
Minimum fee: $100.
Establishments other than restaurants containing between 4,000 and 10,000 square feet: $350.
Establishments other than restaurants containing in excess of 10,000 square feet: $650.
Restaurants with seating capacity of 50 or less: $100.
Restaurants with seating capacity of between 51 and 100: $200.
Restaurants with seating capacity in excess of 100: $350.
Certificates issued or approved under the provisions of this Chapter shall expire annually on June 30 of each year and application for renewal thereof shall be submitted together with the required fee prior to June 1 of each year.
A person conducting an itinerant retail food handling establishment shall secure a certificate or, if such person is the holder of a certificate issued by the Board of Health of another jurisdiction, the certificate may be approved by this Board of Health, and there shall be a fee of $10 charged for such approval.
A certificate or approval of certificate may be suspended or revoked for a violation by the holder of any provision of this Chapter or code after an opportunity has been given for a hearing by the Board of Health or its authorized representative.
A certificate or approval of a certificate issued by another Board of Health is not transferable.
Change of ownership requires new inspection and certificate of approval.
[Ord. #8-2006, § 1]
A late fee charge will be levied by the licensing municipality on those food establishment owners and/or operators who do not renew their license on the anniversary date. The late fee charge will be in addition to the cost of the establishment's annual food licensing fee. The late fee charge is set as follows:
The late fee equals 20% of the food establishment's annual licensing fee except that the minimum late fee charge shall be set no lower than $20.