Questions about eCode360? Municipal users Join us Monday through Wednesday between 12pm and 1pm EDT to get answers and other tips!
Town of Chautauqua, NY
Chautauqua County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
[HISTORY: Adopted by the Town Board of the Town of Chautauqua at time of adoption of Code 2-8-1993 by L.L. No. 1-1993; see Ch. 1, General Provisions, Art. I. Amendments noted where applicable.]
Pursuant to the rules of the New York State Commission on Cable Television, the Town of Chautauqua entered a franchise agreement with U.S. Cable of Westfield, Mayville, Chautauqua, Ripley and Portland (herein "U.S. Cable") for constructing and operating a cable television system. The franchise is to comply with the New York State Commission on Cable Television and Federal Communications Commission franchise standards. U.S. Cable is granted a nonexclusive authority for a cable television distribution system as set out in the CATV franchise agreement dated September 12, 1983, as amended January 30, 1984. The franchise agreement continues for 10 years from its effective date, which is the date of issuance of a certificate of confirmation from the State of New York Commission on Cable Television, and grants U.S. Cable a five-year renewal option pending proper notice.
In order to operate and maintain local public access service pursuant to the Town of Chautauqua's franchise with U.S. Cable, the Town of Chautauqua has joined in forming the Westfield, Mayville, Chautauqua, Ripley and Portland Cable TV Public Access Committee (herein "Access Committee"). Established in conjunction with the other named communities, the Access Committee is to:
Coordinate, promote and augment quality local programming through contributions from each municipality of a portion of collected franchise fees;
Ensure fair and equal access to all available training, studio and field equipment and cable access time; and
Manage, maintain, augment and replace all equipment necessary to realize quality local programming.
The town is represented on the Board of Directors of the Access Committee by two representatives; the representatives are appointed by the town and serve for three-year terms.