[HISTORY: Adopted by the Board of Health of the Township of Dover (now Toms River) 7-15-1974 by Ord. No. 5-74 as Ch. 87, Art. I, of the 1973 Code; amended in its entirety by the Township Council 7-8-2008 by Ord. No. 4144-08. Subsequent amendments noted where applicable.]
A code regulating retail food-handling establishments, providing for the inspection of such establishments and fixing penalties for violations is hereby established pursuant to N.J.S.A. 26:3-69.1 to 26:3-69.6 and pursuant to N.J.A.C. Chapter 24, Retail Food Establishments - Chapter XII of State Sanitary Code as codified in N.J.A.C. 8:24-1.1 et seq. and recommended pursuant to N.J.A.C. 8:21-2.11.
The said code established and adopted by this chapter is described and commonly known as the "Retail Food-Handling Establishment Code of New Jersey (1965)," as amended and supplemented by Chapter XII of the State Sanitary Code, also known as N.J.A.C. 8:24-1.1 et seq. through and including N.J.A.C. 8:24-9.9.
Three copies of the said Retail Food-Handling Establishment Code of New Jersey (1965), New Jersey Administrative Code, Title 8, Chapter 24, also known as N.J.A.C. 824-1.1 through 8:24-9.9, have been placed on file in the office of the Health Officer, Secretary, Clerk or other similar officer of this local Board of Health upon the introduction of this chapter and will remain on file there until final action is taken on this chapter for use and examination by the public.
No person shall operate a retail food-handling establishment unless a certificate, permit, license or approval of an existing certificate, permit or license to operate same shall have been issued by this Board of Health. Such certificate, permit, license or approval of existing certificate, permit or license shall be posted in a conspicuous place in such establishment.
Fees set. There shall be a charge for such certificate, permit, license or approval of any existing certificate, permit or license in the amount of $50, payable with the application for and/or renewal of the certificate, permit or license in question.
Any person who violates any provision of or order promulgated under this chapter or code established herein shall, upon conviction thereof, be liable to a penalty of not less than $5 nor more than $500 for each violation. Each day a particular violation continues shall constitute a separate offense. The state statute authorizing the imposition of funds, N.J.S.A. 26:3-70, was effective by the Laws of 1969, Chapter 253.