[Ord. 2108, 2/5/2018, Section 1]
- CONVERSION THERAPY or REPARATIVE THERAPY
- Any treatment that aims to convert one's sexual orientation or gender expression, including efforts to change behaviors or gender expression or to eliminate or reduce sexual or romantic attraction or appeal towards individuals of the same sex. The term does not include treatment or therapies designed to provide acceptance, support and understanding for the facilitation of an individual's coping, social support and identity exploration and development, including sexual orientation-neutral interventions, or prevent or address unlawful conduct or unsafe sexual practices without seeking to change sexual orientation or gender identity, or to provide assistance to those individuals undergoing gender transition.
- MENTAL HEALTH PROVIDER
- An individual who is licensed, registered or certified under Pennsylvania law to provide mental health services, including but not limited to a medical, doctorial or osteopathic physician, including one who specializes in psychiatry, a nurse, psychologist, social worker, marriage and family therapy or professional counselor or any other person who provides counseling, mental health or behavioral health services as a part of the person's professional training or practice under Pennsylvania law or rule, or any student, intern, volunteer or any other person assisting or acting under the direction or guidance of any of these professionals, as well as any unlicensed individual or those licensed in other jurisdictions.
- Any person less than 18 years of age.
[Ord. 2108, 2/5/2018, Section 2]
Sexual orientation, gender identity or expression conversion or reparative therapy is prohibited. No mental health professional, licensed or unlicensed, as described in § 9-1001 above shall engage in the Borough of State College in sexual orientation or gender conversion or reparative therapy involving a minor.
[Ord. 2108, 2/5/2018, Section 3]
Any person violating the provisions of this ordinance shall, upon conviction before a District Judge of appropriate jurisdiction, be liable to pay costs of prosecution and a fine of not less than $300 and not more than $1,000. Each day of violation shall constitute a separate offense.