Town of Wilton, CT
Fairfield County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
A board of three members to be known as the "Wilton Police Commission" hereby is established for the purpose of organizing and maintaining a Police Department in the Town of Wilton.
The Police Commission members shall be known as "Commissioners," all of whom shall be appointed by the Board of Selectmen, no more than two of whom shall be members of the same political party and none of whom shall hold any other office or membership on any other board of the Town while serving as a Commissioner.
Commissioners shall serve without compensation, except that their actual expenses and disbursements, where incurred with the approval of the Board of Selectmen and in the performance of their duties, shall be paid from the Town treasury.
Commissioners shall be sworn to the faithful performance of their duties and shall be appointed for a term of two years commencing on the first day of December except that of the original three commissioners appointed by the Board of Selectmen, the term of the first appointed shall end on December 1, 1969, and the term of the second appointed shall end on December 1, 1970, and the term of the third appointed shall end on December 1, 1971.
In the event of any vacancy upon the Police Commission, the Board of Selectmen promptly shall appoint a Commissioner to the vacancy for the unexpired portion of the term.