City of New Castle, DE
New Castle County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
[HISTORY: Adopted by The Mayor and Council of New Castle 4-3-1963 by Ord. No. 168. Amendments noted where applicable.]
Administrator — See Ch. 5.
Subdivision of land — See Ch. 213.
Zoning — See Ch. 230.
There is hereby created "The New Castle Planning Commission" of The Mayor and Council of New Castle.
Said Commission shall consist of nine members to be appointed by the Mayor of New Castle, subject to confirmation by the City Council of New Castle, for a term of three years, excepting that the terms of the original members of the Commission shall expire as indicated in Subsection B hereof. Any member of the Commission may be removed for cause after a public hearing as determined by resolution of City Council. Vacancies occurring otherwise than by expiration of term shall be filled by appointment of the Mayor, subject to confirmation by the City Council. Said Commission shall elect annually a Chairperson and a Vice-Chairperson from among its own number, and may employ experts, clerical and other assistants to the extent that its fiscal appropriations shall permit.
[Amended 10-30-2013 by Ord. No. 491; 5-14-2019 by Ord. No. 519]
The original members of the Commission and the times of expiration of their respective terms shall be as follows:
Term Expiring
Stephen Bartha
April 1, 1964
Mrs. H. Sylvester Clark
April 1, 1964
Edward W. Cooch, Jr.
April 1, 1964
James T. Eliason, Jr.
April 1, 1965
Henry N. Herndon, Jr.
April 1, 1965
Francis L. Pollard
April 1, 1965
John C. Roman
April 1, 1966
Edward A. Taylor
April 1, 1966
Wilbur F. Truitt
April 1, 1966
The New Castle Planning Commission shall make a comprehensive development plan for the development of the entire area of the City of New Castle or of such part or parts thereof as said Commission may deem advisable. Such comprehensive development plan shall show, among other things, existing and proposed public ways, streets, bridges, tunnels, viaducts, parks, parkways, playgrounds, sites for public buildings and structures, pierhead and bulkhead lines, waterways, routes of railroads and buses, locations of sewers, water mains and other public utilities and other appurtenances of such a plan, including certain private ways. Such plan shall be adopted, and may be added to or changed from time to time, by a majority vote of such Commission and shall be a public record.
Said Commission shall have full power and authority to make such investigations, maps and reports of the resources, possibilities and needs of the city as it deems desirable, provided that the total expenditures of said Commission shall not exceed the appropriation for its expenses. Upon completion of any such reports, the Planning Commission shall submit the same to the City Council with its recommendations. It shall report annually to the City Council on the activities of the Planning Commission during the preceding year.
Said Commission, its officers and agents may, so far as said Commission deems necessary in carrying out the provisions of this chapter, enter upon any lands and there make examinations and surveys, and place and maintain monuments and marks.
Said Commission shall have all the authority vested in municipal planning commissions by 22 Del. C. §§ 701 through 711, and shall perform the duties therein set forth, whether or not such authority or duties are expressly referred to herein.